Just … Forever Ago

Four months ago today, I prank called my dad when I called to wish my mom a happy birthday. Faking a weird accent, I asked to speak to the birthday girl. He didn’t understand my words and asked me to repeat them. I repeated them, but my accent mixed with my fighting back laughter made him unable to understand me. He declared that he could not understand what I said, apologized, and hung up on me before I could identify myself.

Later when I called back and confessed that I was actually the accented caller, we both laughed and laughed. “You got me! You sure got me!” he kept saying, tickled at himself for not knowing it was his own daughter being silly. He couldn’t wait to tell Mom the story. He got such a kick out of it.

After we laughed about the prank call, he told me he loved me, called me Baby, and hung up the phone.

It would be the last conversation I ever had with my dad.

The last “I love you, Baby.”

The last shared laughter.

And one last memory of a man I love very much.

It seems like an eternity ago. But it seems like just last week. How can that be?

It was the last time I heard his voice. And as usual, he made sure to let me know that he loved me, that he’s my greatest fan, that he believed in me, that he enjoyed me, … that he thought I was funny.

So many times in the last 4 months, I’ve wanted to call him to tell him about what’s going on. I’ve yearned to talk to him, knowing he would have some advice or encouragement for me. I’ve missed his too-loud smooch in my ear each time I leave Mom and Dad’s house.

I miss that man.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Farrell Mabry on November 9, 2014 at 3:51 AM

    Dear Sister, I know what you mean. I talk to him very often and feel his presence. Lately things happened in a perfect way……. I know he was there making it happen. Love you !

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joy McKay on November 14, 2014 at 12:30 AM

    I have such unbearable grief for all of y’all. I am so overwhelmed . I wish I could help take away the sadness. I cannot imagine what you all are going through but in some ways I do imagine and I’m so overtaken by such sorrow. You all are so much in my heart.

    Reply

    • Thank you, Joy. It has been so hard. So weird. So final. But NOT FINAL, thankfully….in eternity. Your post about him yesterday was so sweet — he said such truth to you, didn’t he? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

