Beautiful New Body

Recently, conversations about heaven, about loss, about death have been more common than before around our house. With the loss of my dad, my kids’ Papa, have come conversations and thoughts that before were unfamiliar to us. And, frankly, didn’t matter as much to us.

When Zippy recently talked about heaven and the new bodies we will receive when we leave these tired, for-earth bodies behind, he made me smile at his confidence and self-love.

“I hope the new body God gives me will still have brown skin.”

And with that one comment, I smiled knowing that we have succeeded (for now) in making him proud of himself and of his race and of his body. Maybe gone are the days of his wishing away his dark complexion so he could look more like his family.

While I know transracial adoption will continue to throw difficult issues at us and at him, I was encouraged with his confidence. And, yes, I smiled. And I agreed that I hoped for the same thing – I hoped for him a new body with beautiful deep dark skin when that day comes.

Sweet family moments. Sweet moments with my son for whom I’m forever, forever grateful. A quick peek into his soul — his beautiful, innocent soul.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tracylcarpenter on October 1, 2014 at 6:43 PM

    How very precious. Tender moment and milestone miry girlfriend! Papa would be so proud!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Melissa Coco on October 2, 2014 at 12:09 AM

    I so love that…. I think back to when my girls said- Mom- can I have some brown paint so I can look like Zippy:) So love you guys

    Reply

  3. Posted by Joy on October 2, 2014 at 9:09 PM

    LOVE this!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

