Thankful, yes.

So, I know yesterday was Thanksgiving, and everyone wrote their thankfulness posts yesterday and have moved onto Christmas. But I’m a day late. Please let me indulge in a thankfulness post a few hours tardy.

I like Thanksgiving. It is a very important holiday for us to gather with our family and love on them and say a few things that we probably should say more often during the year: I love you. I’m thankful for you. I’m glad you are in my life. I’m grateful for our relationship and for your friendship. Etc.

Besides hanging with some of our favorite people, eating some of our favorite foods that are reserved only for that Thursday celebration in November, we just sit around and watch TV or play games. (I mean besides the slaving in the kitchen before and after the meal.) And besides, the food is fantastic!

And Thanksgiving is just a great time to count our blessings and name them one by one!

While I won’t be able to name them one by one because I think it would make my blog explode from the length of the post, I will tell a few things that I listed this year — in no particular order.

thankful

I am thankful for my children. Each one of them are incredibly hard workers, persistent and determined in their own areas. They have all 3 accomplished great things — unexpected things. All 3 of my children have a heart for God and love to worship Him; they love to listen for His voice and believe the things He says to them. And each of my kids have completely, 100% stolen my heart forever and always — they cause me happy tears and a full heart nearly everyday. They are truly my gifts!

I am thankful for Paul. He goes to work everyday to support his family. His family causes more stress and difficult decisions than most families do, and he keeps on keeping on. He recognizes and deals with each of our quirks and loves us anyway. He enjoys life and has passions in life that he follows and makes a priority. He is the smartest person I know and nearly always has his nose in a book.

I am thankful for Paul’s family. His parents, still married after more than 50 years, enjoy their children and their grandchildren. They have a big house and love to have it filled with their family and friends. Paul’s family likes to have fun, and laugh, and play games.

I am thankful for my family. My parents love their children and grandchildren and are filled with pride and thankfulness for our relationships and successes. My parents have been married for 50 years and have passed down quite a legacy of faithfulness and commitment and purpose to me and my brothers. I love to gather with them and my sis-in-law and my nephews and niece. Our family who gets along and enjoys each other is so unusual this day and age, and I’m thankful for it.

I’m thankful for my house and my neighborhood. I love to be in the 4 walls of my house. It’s warm in the winter and cool in the summer. There’s space for everyone and love in every room. It’s a place of making memories for my family. Our neighborhood is racially diverse and is a great mix of ages. We even have a little lake and walking trail that is a lovely place to be. It’s a great place to live.

I’m thankful for my church. My kids have great friends there and have learned to have a personal relationship with Jesus. My boys have had mentors who have helped grow them up in the things of God. They have learned to worship God passionately and to use their gifts for the Lord.

I am thankful for my kids’ teachers and schools. Elliot has opportunities that he excels at, Zippy has some teachers who he has bonded with, and Chloe’s team of teachers have been amazing. When you entrust your children to a group of people for 7 hours everyday, it’s so important to know that good things are happening for those 7 hours! It is NOT something that our family takes for granted since we have experienced it both ways.

I am thankful for the sounds my children make when they practice their instruments! I LOVE IT! I wish they practiced for hours everyday so I could listen more and more! Elliot on the marimba, snare, and bells; Zippy on the violin; and Chloe on the cello. Keep on making music!

And this year for the first time, I have someone else to be thankful for. A couple of months ago I connected with my long-lost half brother. He is 9 years older than me. I’ve always known about him but never met him. His daughter reached out to our family on facebook, and we’ve been chatting and getting to know each other for the last six weeks or so. My brother has been married to a lovely woman for 25 years and has 2 wonderful daughters, age 23 and 10. So just like that, I gained a brother, a sister-in-law, and 2 nieces! What fun! And what an amazing gift to receive right before the holidays!

Yes, my heart is full of thankfulness. Can’t you see why?? That is quite the list!

And now we enter into Christmastime! So joyful! Bring it on!

Photo credit: http://www.abortioneers.blogspot.com
Leave a Reply

