Look at Her!

I couldn’t stop looking at her. Her beautiful facial features were dainty and feminine. Her thin face and mature eyes revealed a girl transforming into a lovely young lady. Her sideways glance was that of a pre-teen girl annoyed at being studied and stared at.

Her body was transforming, too. Curves and developments also gave away the secret of a girl growing up.

She was beautiful. She was changing. She was growing up.

And she was my baby.

My 11-and-a-half-year-old baby. My baby girl changing before my eyes into a young woman. It was beautiful.

And it was terrifying!!

How in the world could this be happening? When did it happen? And what in the world am I going to do about it??

I think all parents have that realization — that shocking moment when it hits them full in the face … their child turning into a grown up. I think for all parents, it causes a bit of pride at the good-looking person their child is becoming. I think for all parents, there is some surprise and some fear of what the future holds. Surely for all parents, it evokes a measure of panic — have I done enough? am I ready? is he/she ready?

But for the parent of a child with disabilities? The fear and panic is certainly magnified.

Have I explained her body’s upcoming changes in a way that she understands it? Does she have any questions or concerns? Is she excited about these changes, or is she frightened? What in the world will I do as the changes progress? I mean practically … really … what will we do to handle those things? Is she happy with the “fashion” and “style” that I’m offering her, or is she wishing she could dress in a different way? Have we talked about boys enough?

Look at her. She’s changing. And she’s beautiful. I’ve got to be ready.

These and more (lots more!!!!) are the thoughts of a mom who has a girl-becoming-woman-creature-thing living in her house. A girl-becoming-woman whom she loves incredibly deeply. A girl-becoming-woman whom she doesn’t want to disappoint or embarrass. A girl-becoming-woman who will need way more support than she knows how to give. A girl-becoming-woman whose dignity she very much wants to protect.

And the mom is terrified. And begging for tips and pointers.

Look at her. She’s absolutely beautiful ….

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Melissa Coco on July 22, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    this is precious — I was just thinking as I was looking at Chloe the other day how she has changed and grown… she is a lovely young lady now…

    Reply

  2. Posted by pmastin on July 22, 2013 at 12:54 PM

    I’m glad you’re on top of this. I don’t know what I’d do without you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

