The Joy

I bawled. I hung up from talking to the teacher and bawled.

She called tonight before dinner asking for a paper I was to sign. Even though I had signed it and sent it back today, the last day of school before summer break, she hadn’t seen it. While we talked, she realized where the paper probably was so she said to disregard her call.

Then she stopped. She said, “No. Don’t disregard my call. It gives me the chance to say thank you for my necklace — I wore it today.”

And then she went on to tell me how much Chloe means to her … how much Chloe has changed her … and what a tremendous blessing it has been to have her. “I love Chloe and will always love Chloe.”

She mentioned the note I wrote to her that I stuck in the bag with her necklace. It meant a lot to her; she took it to heart, which is good because I wrote it from my heart.

The phone call was a bit awkward and incredibly emotional (and those who know me know emotion is not my forte!). The words came awkwardly, if at all. I feel speechless and forever indebted for the care this woman has taken of my daughter this school year. I assured her that the note I wrote to her was indeed heart-felt and that I would never be able to express to her what this year has been for our family — for Chloe.

Hoping it’s not too personal to share, I’m choosing to share it here since this is where I share my heart most of all and really paints a picture of my family’s gratitude for the team that taught Chloe this year:

We have no words to express what this year has been for our family — especially for Chloe. To be valued, to be appreciated, to be loved, to be held to standard, to be included, to be listened to and taught … and all the while be healed from past hurts. Your heart for teaching and for my daughter is gold and healing balm for us. Thank you for an amazing year!

Yes, it’s from the heart. And truly understated, if you ask me.

She went on to say that there’s no way Chloe benefitted more than she did this year; the teacher said she was the one who was blessed. And she was so glad that Chloe landed in her room this year.

The end of the phone call with the teacher is what pushed me over the edge to tears and sobs. She said she didn’t know what our summer looked like, but that she would like to write letters to Chloe and hoped that they could be pen pals. She also said maybe she can come over or meet us at a restaurant and hang out while Chloe plays … “so that you can stay connected to teachers who care.”

And I said, “Yes!”

I said that I would like it very much.

And my heart is full. My heart is full and overflowing — overflowing all down my face and dripping onto my shirt.

The crazy thing? Just a few hours before, Chloe’s aide made pretty much the same offer. It’s as though they can’t imagine the whole summer going by without getting to hang out with my kid.

And I’m finally letting myself believe it. After an entire school year of my precious girl being valued and cared for, I’m finally letting it really sink in. It’s trying to sink in as the tears are welling up. My daughter is truly valued, sincerely liked, and genuinely missed by folks who love her at her school.

I will refrain from asking what planet I’m on!! It’s crazy, indeed. Crazy good!!

16 responses to this post.

  1. As a teacher and a mother, it is great to see this post… so many people take for granted the work that we do. Thanks for sharing 🙂 x x x

    Reply

  2. Posted by tracylcarpenter on May 30, 2013 at 8:05 PM

    Well that brought me to tears!!

    His Peace John 14:27

    Reply

  3. Posted by Renee' on May 30, 2013 at 10:26 PM

    God is so good!!! He knew exactly what each of you needed this year…you, Chloe and the teachers. It is so good to hear that your heart is healing. Praying in August she will get the same kind of teachers that will love her, teach her and bring out the best in her!!!

    Reply

  4. It’s a challenge sometimes for me to acknowledge and accept that others see and feel for my precious girl more than I do – but when we do I think it helps me to see her in a different way, less of a daily “burden” (challenge) and more or a gift. When teachers tell me that Chelsea (my 15 year old quadriplegic) has made them a better teacher or better person, I sometimes think they are just being kind or nice or pc. The challenge is always for me to divorce myself from the everyday logistical challenges of looking after her and to see what they see – her awesomeness. Glad you got to see and hear how awesome your child is.

    Reply

  5. Reblogged this on Mom on the Side and commented:
    I read the Ordinary Days post The Joy after I had raced around organizing a present for my daughters special needs teacher. It was the boost I needed to remember to be grateful. It’s a challenge sometimes for me to acknowledge and accept that others see and feel for my precious girl more than I do – I think it helps me to see her in a different way, less of a daily “burden” (challenge) and more or a gift. When teachers tell me that Chelsea (my 15 year old quadriplegic) has made them a better teacher or better person, I sometimes think they are just being kind or nice or pc. The challenge is always for me to divorce myself from the everyday logistical challenges of looking after her and to see what they see – her awesomeness.

    Reply

    • Thanks for your comment! Yes, it’s important for us to remember their “awesomeness” instead of their challenges; otherwise, we’ll tire out and quit before our time ….

      Reply

  6. Posted by Melissa Coco on May 31, 2013 at 6:48 AM

    YEAH!! 🙂 That makes my heart full, too. Chloe has always deserved that kind of a teacher- so thankful she had one this year. What an awesome answer to so many prayers. Thank you God

    Reply

  7. How good to read how blessed you are about this right now, Kelly. Of course, just reading that you were crying got me to puddle-up-and-squall! Love you.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Pafricia on May 31, 2013 at 11:45 AM

    Rejoicing in Cloe’s successful year and this teacher who wants to help her succeed. She also can be a support and advocate. Blessings ,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

