Give me 50!

images

We go through seasons in every area, don’t we? I know I do.

I even go through seasons of trying different consequences for my kids’ disobedience and disrespect. I’ve tried everything from corporal punishment, to being sent to your room, to losing a privelege, to being grounded, to having extra chores, to soap in the mouth… I’ve tried many things…with different levels of success.

The latest?

Give me 50! Give me 10! Give me 20! Give me 4!

Jumping jacks, push ups, sit ups, laps around the block.

Seriously. Why not get some good sweat, pain, and exercise at the same time you’re teaching a lesson?! I’ve decided it’s a great form of “punishment” for boys. Especially the time when one of them did 2 laps around the block in the rain when it was 30 degrees!

(Now before you go calling CPS, my boys have good coats and rain jackets hanging in their closets — I just haven’t been successful in giving them the good sense to put them on their cold little bodies; and it was pretty much done raining; and it was 37 degrees, which is darn near 40 degrees which isn’t below freezing!)

But did it get that boy’s attention? Ummmm, yeah.

I love the fact that push ups and sit ups can be done anywhere. At home, in a parking lot, at church, at Walmart … In fact, one of my boys gave me 20 sit-ups at basketball practice last week. Funny thing is, he chose to do them outside in the freezing cold weather instead of doing them inside the gym so that none of his teammates would see him doing sit-ups for me!

Truth is, we are trying to exercise more, get healthier, slim down, etc… so I think this “punishment” is a great choice! Love it!

Disobey? Do something good for your body!

Bother and annoy your brother? Get up and exercise!

Slow to obey? Well, hurry yourself around the block a couple of times!

Give me 20!

Love it!

images-1

photo credit: movemoretoday.com and netninja.com
3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tracylcarpenter on January 24, 2013 at 7:30 PM

    That’s awesome. This is how the Ranch discplines. Push 10 Push push! Their self confidence grows, too, because their muscles grow! I like it!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Liesl on January 24, 2013 at 9:26 PM

    Some of my cousins did that. They are in their 30’s now. Then they went to A&M and were in the corp. When they had to do push ups it was no big deal for them. From an OT perspective, it gives them good sensory input! Such an amazing mom you are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

