How High??

I’ve said a million and one times that my girl would love to sit in the corner and play with baby toys all day everyday. She would also love to convince everyone that that is all she’s capable of.

Chloe is a smart little girl, and she’s amazing at fooling people — and she’s equally amazing at “reading” people.

How many times have I said that if you succeed at getting my girl’s heart, she’ll do anything for you? I’ve said it over and over and over. If Chloe knows you care about her and that you believe in her, then she’ll work for you and obey you. If Chloe doesn’t think you care about her … if she knows you don’t think she can do it, then I can promise you she won’t do whatever it is you have asked her to do. It’s how she ticks!

A great example of this is to compare last school year to this school year. Night and day! Last year, Chloe’s teachers were convinced that she knew nothing and was not capable of succeeding. They were convinced that she couldn’t read and couldn’t comprehend. They were convinced that Chloe did not belong in the general education classroom. And guess what? Chloe lived right up to their expectations. The result? A terrible year for everyone and a little girl who did exactly what her teachers expected of her, unfortunately.

Compare that to this year’s absolute opposite experience. The teachers and Chloe’s assistant are convinced that she knows it all. They are convinced that she can do and that she can read and that she can understand and that she can succeed. And they work hard at helping Chloe belong in the general education classroom. And guess what? Chloe is living right up to their expectations! This year miraculously (NOT!), Chloe is reading at grade level. Chloe is writing paragraphs. Chloe is succeeding. And the difference truly is the expectations and the heart of the staff of people working with her this year.

The moral of the story? We must be careful not to sell anyone short. We must always assume competency and act accordingly.

And just know that if you ever tell my little girl to jump, expect her to ask in her own way, “How high?”  And you can be sure that she will jump precisely according to your answer ….

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Liesl on December 29, 2012 at 10:17 PM

    Love her! She continues to be that same little Chloe. She is so smart….in so many ways. Always expect high!

    Reply

  2. Posted by tracylcarpenter on December 29, 2012 at 10:34 PM

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this !!!! I would like to share on my FB.

    His Peace John 14:27

    Reply

  3. Posted by Audrey Haney on December 30, 2012 at 12:54 AM

    Beautifully said, Kelly. Inclusion is about believing, presuming competence and having high expectations.

    Reply

  4. Posted by lynn chambers on January 3, 2013 at 8:13 PM

    If you haven’t described my Caitlyn in full detail…God Bless! How do I get this across to the bozo’s who have decided she should be in a self inclusion or whatever the heck they call it, here in charlotte it’s called SAC. They only send me home stupid reports accusing her of name calling, not having her assignment when I have made them well aware the assignment was never in her agenda! It is sick and I’m about to blow a gasket! My daughter absolutely loves school, during the entire break she was yelling “NO more holiday, I want to go to school” Really??? So for her to be calling names and once she gets back??? They have behavioral kids in that class, and I’m disgusted at the ignorance! Dropping in for breakfast tomorrow to check out the class, and have already requested a meeting with lots of copies of their idiot remarks. Sorry for my bitterness as I am a very nice person and never want to ruffle feathers as they have my child in their hands. Ugh! so glad you are having such a great experience! 🙂

    Reply

    • Oh my goodness, Lynn. I feel your pain! Really! Yes, this year is awesome, but I promise we have a history of some really yucky years! How frustrating! And really, trying to convince someone who doesn’t “get it” that inclusion with general ed is the best option … well, it’s nearly futile. What an exhausting battle! So sorry! I had to be the major squeeky wheel and I had to squeek loud and long!! Ugh. We Mom Warriors must stick together and encourage each other!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

