Well, did you?!

Recently, I spent the day doing some work with my mom. My brother was there, too, doing his work. We had fun conversations together while we worked.

Later, when it was nearly time to leave, I had a revelation. I realized one of the reasons it was so nice to hang out with these two kind adults all day was that there was something missing. There was something missing from the day, from the conversation.

You see, at home (or out and about for that matter), when I’m hanging out with Zippy, he asks a question — the same question — over and over and over. When he hears a sound… When he notices something odd… When he senses a new smell… Over and over and over, he asks his question.

The question?

Did you just fart?!”

Yes. Seriously. Over and over and over again. Every single day. If I had a dime for every time I’ve been asked that question in the last 6 months, I would be a rich woman! And I could pay someone to answer all of Zippy’s questions!

At first, when he first began asking the question, I would not only answer his question (with a “No” everytime, of course!), but I would also offer him an explanation:

“That was my shoe.”

“I think it was the chair.”

“Maybe you smell the trash.”

Or whatever. But I quickly tired of trying each time to decipher what it was he was sensing that he was mistaking for his mother’s passing gas! (FYI, it is not just me he asks the question of … no one in his family is immune to the question. And poor Chloe doesn’t just get asked the question — she gets the question asked about her! “Did she just fart!?” I think that’s somehow worse.)

Well, this morning when loving-words Zippy came and laid with me in my bed, he showed me that the question scenario really could get worse. After lying there for a few minutes, he, of course, asked me the question.

Did you just fart?!”

“No,” was my rolling of the eyes response.

“Oh,” he said. “It’s just your breath.” And with that, he got up and left, offended by my morning greeting.

Yep. I’d be a reeeeally rich woman ….

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by tracylcarpenter on October 11, 2012 at 4:40 PM

    I am laughing hard! I’ve been helping demo out in the garage with Danny and Jon. How on earth they can bring farting,pooping or burping into every conversation is a mystery to me! But having been raised by Cecil Carpenter I should be immured to it! Remind me to tell you about Heidi and David! At one time in my life I thought I could save my kids from him but I gave up! Then Heidi and Jamie thought they could save theirs! Not a chance! Thanks for the laugh!

    His Peace John 14:27

    Reply

Leave a Reply

