Butterfly

As I’ve already said, Chloe is having such a great year of school this year. The team of teachers and aides supporting her are amazing and inspiring! I truly am very thankful for them for blessing Chloe and for teaching Chloe. Such a beautiful change compared to the last two years.

One of her teachers especially seems to have enjoyed connecting with her. This teacher was telling me today about their special relationship. She explained that Chloe really wants to please her and doesn’t like to disappoint her. If Chloe does something loud — screams out or slams her book — this teacher just quietly tells Chloe that that noise really frightened her or made her worry and asks her to do it more quietly next time. And Chloe is responding beautifully to her. (And what a lesson that I want to her learn across settings: her actions affect other people! She’s not the only person in the world!)

When I arrived at my meeting with this teacher today, she asked me, “Is Butterfly not with you today?”

“Excuse me?” I asked her, assuming I had misunderstood her.

And that’s when I learned that this special teacher has a special nickname for Chloe. She calls her Butterfly. She went on to explain their sweet relationship and how they relate to each other and ways that she shows Chloe that she values her and appreciates her input.

“We have a close relationship; that’s why I have a special name for her,” she explained with a smile. “And when I call her Butterfly, she smiles really big.”

Thank you, Lord, for this teacher! Thank you, Lord, for special relationships and sweet teachers who give my sweet girl special nicknames!

Today’s meeting sure did my heart some good. 🙂

Photo credit: themusicroom.net.au
10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Melissa Coco on October 4, 2012 at 3:36 PM

    That is awesome:)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cindi Paschall on October 4, 2012 at 4:32 PM

    Teachers who get it are such a gift! I am so happy for Chloe.

    Reply

  3. What a precious teacher! Have a wonderful school year, Butterfly! What a beautiful year to spread your wings 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by tracylcarpenter on October 4, 2012 at 6:13 PM

    Isn’t it nice that your , our prayers have been answered! Praise the Lord. I am so glad that your Little Butterfly is in precious hands!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Audrey on October 4, 2012 at 6:28 PM

    Makes me want to cry. Beautiful and touching.

    Reply

  6. Crying….smiling….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

