The Bed Tent Saga Update Part Five

Have I told you lately how much we LOVE Chloe’s bed??

We love Chloe’s bed SO MUCH that …. well, I can’t even describe it! The peace. The sleep. The safety. There is nothing like it. There is really nothing like it.

Every night, we zip Chloe in her cute bright pink bed that she loves (that’s a bonus! not a requirement, but a bonus!) and we know that we know that we know that she will be there safe and sound when we return in the morning. No need to go check on her ten times every night. No need to worry if she’s safe.

It. is. crazy. awesome.

And you cannot put a price on safety and peace and sleep. Period.

But TheSafetySleeper has a price. And the price at first seemed way too high. The price at first seemed like a no-go for our family. But please let me urge you to consider and research your options so that you, too, can experience this peace, safety, and sleep. It really is amazing!

First, I must say that we didn’t have the money for the bed. We loved it, and we wanted it, but we knew we couldn’t afford it right now. I am assuming that many of you who are experiencing sleepless nights and are wishing you could buy The Safety Sleeper for your child are in the same boat. I’ll bet you’re thinking, “Great idea, but I will never be able to afford that bed.” So I wanted to talk about that a bit.

I know that some of you have already checked out The Safety Sleeper website and drooled over that amazing bed but have already decided you can’t buy one. I wanted to help you get past that and see if I can help you figure out a way to get one for your child … for your family.

Ultimately, my parents actually helped us a lot! They knew the need. They saw the bed. And they wanted to help us out. And they chose to give us a chunk of money for the bed. So that’s my first idea for you — is there someone who loves you or loves your child who might want to help you pay for the bed? I’m not condoning begging; nor am I encouraging you to mooch off your folks. I am saying that there are people who love you and there are people who want to help you. And those people would maybe love to have a chance to give to you. Before she found out that we had already ordered the bed, one of my best friends said that she had already started the conversation with another friend of ours about raising the money to buy the bed for us — they were planning on pitching in and seeing if other friends wanted to pitch in, too! So … seriously … don’t decide against the bed just yet because your friends and family may want to help you buy it.

Is this an uncomfortable conversation to have? It’s very weird to admit that you have a weakness –being poor! 😉 — and that you need help! I don’t guess I should pretend to speak for us all.  I should just say that for me it is hard to admit weakness and the fact that I need help.

Another thought that Paul and I had was to have a garage sale. We always have junk laying around and piled around that we are ready to get rid of. And as they say, “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure!” Or at least we hope! So a garage sale is a great way to earn some cash. Probably if you asked around and explained the cause of your garage sale, probably your friends would bring some of their junk over for you to sell, too. Depending on how long it’s been since your last sale, and depending on how much junk you have piled around, you could make a pretty little penny to put toward the purchase of The Safety Sleeper.

We even thought of doing some sort of fundraiser event. A bake sale? A silent auction? A lemonade stand? Okay, so those were my only three fundraiser events that I thought of.  But I’m sure there are plenty more that someone with a creative mind could think of. Great ways to make some money.

Here’s an idea that isn’t very popular: get a temporary parttime job. I know, I know — it sounds crazy. But seriously, if you got a parttime job and saved every penny that you made to put toward The Safety Sleeper, then before very long, you’d have a chunk saved up to help pay for the bed, and then you could quit your 2nd job again! Someone do the math and figure out what I’d make in a department store and figure out how many hours I’d have to work to get a chunk of change. Whether you worked enough to pay for the whole bed or just worked enough to pay for part of it, it is a great way to help out financially and to make this bed a reality for your family.

If you go to The Safety Sleeper website, you will see another amazing way of getting The Safety Sleeper (or other equipment, for that matter!) Click on the “Financial Help” button to learn about different organizations that help families buy these beds or other equipment. Fund it Forward is an organization that Rose at The Safety Sleeper works closely with. Fund it Forward and the other organizations listed are great resources for families who can’t sit down and write a check to pay for their child’s bed. Check it out!

There is also information on The Safety Sleeper website about insurance / Medicaid paying for the bed. Find this information under the FAQ section of the website. Since my parents were able to help us buy the bed, I did not go this route. But I plan to start the process to see if insurance will reimburse us for part of the purchase. I will keep you posted on that process. I do know that Medicaid won’t reimburse for the purchase, but our private insurance might. Compared to the fancy medical wood bed that we were trying to get Medicaid to pay for for Chloe, The Safety Sleeper costs nothing! (And it’s portable!) So I’m hoping that we’ll get approved for reimbursement for it.

Are you as uncomfortable talking about money as I am? I think it’s yucky to talk about money. But I LOVE talking about saving money or being smart with money! So there ya have it. I thought that since some of you probably looked at the website a couple of weeks ago and immediately decided you could never get The Safety Sleeper for your child, I wanted to give you some ideas to start your thinker! We love Chloe’s bed, and I really think you’d love it, too. And I know money is tight … I can relate!

I will tell you that Chloe and I have both slept better in the last two months than either of us has in the past SEVEN YEARS! Did I tell you that we love Chloe’s bed??

And now, watch this video of Rose. I told you she was darling! Here she is talking from her heart about her desire to help families get a safe bed for their children.

The Safety Sleeper™ from Heiko Spallek on Vimeo.

****************************************************************

*Disclaimer: Rose gave me a good deal on The Safety Sleeper and I’ll be credited a bit with every buyer who mentions me because I promised that I would talk about it on my blog. But as most of you know by now, I’m gonna tell it how it is! So you know I’m not joshing or exaggerating the truth. The truth is that the bed is incredible, and I have a feeling I’ll be singing its praises for a long, long time!  If you visit the website or purchase a bed, be sure to let Rose know that I sent you! 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mimi on March 8, 2012 at 7:18 PM

    Have I told you how much I love Chloe”s new bed? I love knowing that she sleeps better, now that she knows it is futile to be up half the night trying to escape! I love knowing that when you get up to get her out of bed,that you actually find her in her bed. I love knowing that you can sleep, having full confidence, that Chloe is safely in her bed!

    Reply

    • Thanks, Mom! I know you know the story pretty intimately and understand what this nighttime peace means to us! Thanks for your love and support! 🙂

      Reply

  2. You can like The Safety Sleeper at https://www.facebook.com/thesafetysleeper

    Reply

Leave a Reply

