To Hug and To Hold

A few nights before Valentines, I sat with Chloe to work on her Valentines Day cards for her class. I had the list of the students in her class, and as I read each name, Chloe chose which card she wanted to give to that friend. This whole process went without episode until we got to one particular boy’s name.

When I read the name Victor, Chloe looked up from her stack of cards, looked me straight in the eyes, and said, “Hold” as she cupped her little hands together like you would do under the faucet to catch some water.

“You want to hold Victor?” I asked her, smiling at her for thinking something special about someone in her class.

She nodded Yes, that she wanted to hold Victor.

I, of course, thought this whole episode was cute and endearing but quickly forgot all about it.

Forgot about it, that is, until at the Valentines Day party when I met Victor. He had come up to Chloe’s seat to tell her Thank You for the card. He hardly got the  words out before the two of them embraced each other. It was a quick, friendly hug that was 100% mutual.

And then Victor, that precious smallish boy, turned to me with the biggest, toothiest, joyous smile and reported excitedly, “I love Chloe’s hugs!”

And I knew immediately that the feeling was mutual. Even at home, Chloe had talked about wanting to hold her friend Victor.

I’m not much of a saver of things. I throw things away. But I might just hang on to Chloe’s Valentines Day card from her friend Victor this year.

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. Chloe, I think you must have good taste in boys! Victor sounds like a sweet kid!

    Reply

  2. How sweet! I am glad Chloe has a true friend in her class….

    Reply

  3. Posted by Liesl Thompson Jones on February 29, 2012 at 12:08 PM

    Your stories are always the sweetest and always always touch my heart. Gotta love Chloe!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sandra on February 29, 2012 at 1:05 PM

    That was so sweet…I got tears in my eyes!!!! I think I love that Victor, too!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Heidi on February 29, 2012 at 1:34 PM

    Oh my gosh! that is so precious, give victor a hug from me too!

    Reply

  6. just precious! ❤

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mimi on March 3, 2012 at 10:05 PM

    Sounds like Chloe is a good judge of “huggers”! I’d like to meet that young man!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

