The Bed Tent Saga — Update Part Two

Continued from yesterday . . .  You know, I was belly-aching about how terribly our attempts to keep Chloe safe at night have failed over the years.  I may not have mentioned the hundreds of dollars we’ve spent on this whole endeavor. . . whine, whine, whine.  But then I left you hangin’ with a big ol’ tease??  Remember??  About our exciting discovery and solution for keeping Chloe safe and in her bed??  Ahhh, yes, so you do remember!  🙂

Well, . . . one day not very long ago, I received a comment on my blog.  The comment was from a mom who had the same struggles that I was having.  The comment asked if I had ever heard of a particular bed tent.  And this mom wanted to know if I had heard of this company because she wanted to know about it before they bought it.  And I was shocked when she included a link to a bed that I had never heard of.

Now, let me assure you . . . I have done lots of homework and lots of research on beds for children with disabilities, but I had somehow missed this one.  I immediately clicked on the link, and I immediately fell in love with what I saw!  The bed was amazing! I think I said outloud in my empty house, “I am ordering this TODAY!”

But then I saw the price, and my heart sank.  The price was steep — really steep.  I’ve bought enough of these types of bed tents to know that they are not at all worth that high price.  I realize maybe there’s going to be an exception now and then . . . but so far they’ve all been quite disappointing.  I was very disappointed in the high price and just tried to think about something else.

But I couldn’t get the bed out of my mind.  It really looked awesome.  And from the photos, it looked like it was a decent quality bed tent.  And I was a desperate mama.  And I looked at the link a few more times.  And then I looked at it a few more times.  As soon as Paul got home, I showed him the link.  He was equally as excited to see something that looked so great.  But he was equally skeptical about the high price.  <sigh>

But we couldn’t get the bedtent out of our minds.  It really looked awesome.  So I decided to contact the company and have a conversation about the quality and see if I could get any vibes.

And that’s just what I did!  I called and emailed (don’t remember what I did first) expressing interest in the bed and wanting to talk to someone about it.  I think it was the same day that I heard back from Rose, the owner of the company.  Impressive and fast!

Rose was darling.  She is the mom of a child with a disability who was faced with the same issues we were facing.  But she had an idea and she had a friend who had some great skill and some quality materials.  And this friend agreed to make a bed for Rose’s son several years ago.  I won’t attempt to tell the company’s story here (since you can read about it on their website later), but what happened is that Rose’s friend made a great bed that kept her son safe at night.  And knowing what a common problem this is for families in the disability community, Rose decided to make more beds and start her own company to do so.

Rose talked about the quality of the bed. . . and it sounded awesome!  I complained about the flimsy mesh of the other products I’ve tried, and she completely understood my concerns.  She explained that the first mesh product they used was the mesh that is used on those big ol bounce houses.  I was impressed picturing that high-quality mesh.  But then she said that now they use a heavier-duty mesh than that — the mesh that they use on a tractor trailer to cover and protect his load.  Wow.  Now that’s heavy-duty mesh!  I was getting more and more excited the more she talked!!

Another amazing thing that Rose told me that day was that her son had one of the very first beds that they made several years ago — several years ago — and it wasn’t even made correctly; it was a prototype that wasn’t really even the right size for a twin mattress.  But that prototype??  Her son had been sleeping in it for several years.  Years.  Yes, I said years!!  What??  A safe sleep solution that is going to last years??!!  The cost was looking more and more reasonable all the time.

And Paul and I were beside ourselves excited!  And we had. to. have. one.

To be continued . . .

(If the suspense is too much for you, check out http://thesafetysleeper.com/.  Be forewarned:  you will fall in love! Be sure to let Rose know that I sent you.  And check back here tomorrow for the rest of the story.)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tracy l. Carpenter on January 24, 2012 at 7:14 AM

    I am so excited for Chole!!!! And You! That bed looks incredible! I am putti g Rose’s link on my FB! oh Sis I am so thankful God is answering prayers. Can’t wait for tomorrow!

    Reply

  2. WOW WOW WOW!!!!! I am hopeful and questioning HOW HOW HOW about the money but man it looks like a real hopeful option. Can’t believe I have never seen this before either. Thank you Kelly.

    Reply

  3. […] you already know how much we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Chloe’s bed, right? Well, we love it even more after having traveled with […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

