International Day of Acceptance

I am bogged down with emotion as I prepare for another meeting with Chloe’s school today. My heart, my resolve, and my brain are all very tired and stretched thin. I would love your prayers today if you think about us.

Today, January 20th, is International Day of Acceptance. I was going to attempt to write a wonderful post about what this day means to me and to my family this year. But, as I said, I’m a little emotionally-spent right at the moment.  But in re-reading my post from last year, I have to concur that that is what International Day of Acceptance means to us.  You can reread it here.  🙂

We all have our Wheelchair Heart t-shirts to wear today — even my dad has one to wear this year!

Today we are celebrating and embracing Zachary just the way he is … for it is his disabilities that make him who he is  … that make US what WE are.  And the more I can educate the people around us on his hidden disabilities, the more he will be accepted and embraced and empowered.  Really.

Today we celebrate Chloe just the way she is. . . for it is her disabilities that make her who she is.  She is a strong girl with a perseverance that just won’t stop.  She has a tender heart that has room to love a million more.  And the more I can educate the people around her the more she can live her life to the fullest without being held back or pitied.  For it is pity that will slam on the brakes to her success.

I wear my t-shirt proudly today.  I’m very proud to have Zach and Chloe in my life.  I’m very proud to be a part of the disability community.  I’m very proud to have many friends who live life with a disability.

Educate. Embrace. Empower.

(Again, read last year’s post here.)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by papa on January 20, 2012 at 10:03 AM

    WOW !!! What a good looking day. A day of acceptance . I am so proud of all my grandchildren, but today is a special day to thank GOD FOR CHLOE AND ZACH. THANK YOU GOD for making them just the way they are! They are so special, loving, helpful, smart, funny, and everything this Papa could ever hope and pray for. Today I am wearing my Christmas gift (t-shirt that tells the world that Papa is proud of his two angels and embraces all THE SPECIAL PEOPLE I know and those I come in contact with.. I wont forget to call Hans when he comes in from work today. (for those of you who do not know Hans is my 50-year-old neighbor, friend, and golf buddy) This is really a special day! thank you, Kelly You are very special to your dad!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

