Bummer . . . Fail!

Well, I have admitted here before that I’m not real big on making New Year’s Resolutions.  I don’t make them, and I don’t keep them.  I guess probably the whole truth is that I don’t make them because I don’t keep them.  It’s painful to fail at a new committment over and over and over and again.  So I finally just stopped making them.

I did, of course, choose a word for this year.  DELIGHT.  And wrapped up in that word are certainly implied resolutions — things I will aim to do differently, things I will try to approach differently, things I will try to relate to differently or interact with differently or respond to differently.  So my word for 2012 is a resolution — or even a list of resolutions, really.  But for the most part, I have just stopped making New Year’s Resolutions.

Every now and then, however, I decide to make a resolution or two.  This year I made 3.  But I didn’t tell anyone.  So they didn’t really count.  They were certainly unofficial since they weren’t written down anywhere nor were they spoken aloud.  But I sorta kinda made 3 New Year’s Resolutions in my head . . . to myself. 

And I’ve broken all 3 like crazy.  For that matter, I’ve done a lousy job on my word for the year, too.  See, that’s why I don’t play that game.

1.  DELIGHT.  Result: Fail.  Explanation: I started the year by hurting my back and spent the first week and a half of the year on the couch in pain, worthless.  It was difficult to delight in anything.  Since finally getting up and getting things back under control, I’ve been too wrapped up in trying to get things back under control to delight in anything.  I’ve been tired and grumpy.  I’ve been busy and overworked.  And I haven’t been delighting in the 4 favorite people in my life.  But today’s a new day.  I will delight in them today!  I have scheduled coffee with a friend, and I will delight in her friendship and try this whole Word of the Year thing again.

2.  No Dr. Pepper for a year.  Result: Fail.  Explanation: Really the goal was no soda, no pop, no soda pop, no Coke . . . however in the world you say it . . . for a year.  365 days.  No big deal.  I’ve done it before, and I can easily do it again.  And I succeeded at first.  I was doing really well . . . . but by the time January 2nd rolled around, I caved.  Yes!  I only lasted a day and a half.  Pathetic.

3.  Use only 1 space after a period. Result: Fail. Explanation: I recently learned that the rules have changed. Now instead of putting 2 spaces after a period when we type, apparently we are supposed to only put 1. It was my goal to switch to this new grammatical rule . . . since I am an English major!! But I have found it is quite difficult for this old dog to learn a new trick. It is especially tricky for this old dog to learn a new trick that she doesn’t like. This paragraph is following the rule of only one space, and I don’t like it a bit. I think I find comfort in the “airy-ness” of 2 spaces after a period. So I’ve failed at this unofficial resolution, too. There is still hope that I will catch on and begin to follow this rule, but it will be a tough one, to be sure.

4.  Publish at least 3 blog posts every week of the year.  I failed at that already, too.  When I realized on Sunday night that a week was just passing by with no post, I nearly sat down and posted 3 random things that night just to say I didn’t fail.  But I didn’t.  A week went by with no post.  Bummer.

But thankfully each day is a new day!  And God’s mercies are new every morning!  I can start anew with whatever I want to start anew with!

I’m not sure if I will try to  restart any of the above resolutions.  I will for sure keep my Word of the Year.  That’s a biggie, and I knew it would be a process anyway.  Learning to delight even in the midst of crummy circumstances is certainly a process.

So today, I’m choosing to delight in new beginnings.  I don’t have to wait for January 1st to roll around again.  I can start anew today!

There!  I just did!  🙂

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jamie on January 23, 2012 at 12:06 PM

    You are hilarious! I will never conform to one space after a period. That is just wrong! It looks wrong and my typing fingers just will not do one period, they are old dogs forsure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

