Pretty Brown Baby

Being a transracial family is sometimes a funny thing. It is sometimes a tricky thing. It is nearly always a beautiful, fun thing. And it is certainly something we always celebrate!

Zippy likes to be able to ask me who is the cutest black boy in the world, knowing I will say him. I can’t say he’s the cutest boy in the world if Paul or Elliot are listening, but I can always say that he is cutest black boy in the world.

Recently Zach and I read a book of poetry together. He had to read a poetry book for a school project.  We chose a book that we already owned but had never read completely. It is called Make a Joyful Sound: Poems for Children by African American Poets. It had a variety of poems — some about different shades of skin, some about famous African Americans, some about pride and freedom, and some about African culture.

But Zippy has a favorite poem from that book that he asks me to recite to him each night at bedtime.  And he also insists that I touch and rub his soft little face while I say it to him.

Pretty brown baby

Fat and fine.

Love you. Love you.

All the time.

 

Make A Joyful Sound (pob)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathy Franklin on December 30, 2011 at 12:10 PM

    Love this–brought tears to my eyes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

