Good Mama / Mean Mama

As you already know, Chloe is in love with our Christmas tree.  And after months of asking, we finally set up the tree after Thanksgiving.  She is loving it, and spends a good bit of her time lying on the chair watching the tree.  She. loves. it.

As you also know, Chloe has a hard time staying in her bed at night

Well, a couple of days after setting up the tree I had another brilliant parent moment.  A moment and an idea that would later be called “mean” by some.  Hehehe.

For the next month or so I have a powerful consequence to use when Chloe disobeys — mainly when she doesn’t stay in her bed.  You see, Chloe doesn’t like it when the Christmas tree lights are not on.

The plan?  You stay in bed, the Christmas tree lights are bright and shining in the morning before school.  You get out of your bed, the tree remains dark until after school.

Hopefully it will prove to be a powerful enough consequence to keep my little Houdini in her bed for a while while we wait for approval for her new bed.

Some think it’s mean when I discipline Chloe.  They have a hard time seeing Chloe get any kind of consequence.  Isn’t it cruel to discipline such an innocent child? they wonder.

But the other day on a morning that our Christmas tree stayed dark, as we were going out to the car to drive to school, Elliot spoke up, again making me stop in wonder of his young wisdom and thoughtfulness.  “I think it’s good that you give Chloe consequences when she disobeys.  I think that most people who have a child with special needs just let them do whatever they want to do and never give them consequences.”

And I felt very validated by my 12-year-old son.  And I was proud of him for noticing and thinking about it.  🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. I agree with you, and what a wonderful son to understand about his sister! What a wonderful mother to find a consequence that will work. It is so hard to find consequences that will work for Gracie, and ones that she understands.

    PS, I will be watching Temple Grandin’s movie as soon as possible! Thanks for telling us about it.

    Reply

    • Yes, consequences are tricky so I”m happy when I figure out something that works – even if it is for only a month at Christmas time! 🙂 Let me know what you think of the movie when you see it!

      Reply

  2. Definitely a good mama. She needs to learn to stay in her bed. But it sure will be nice when we get the new one!

    Reply

  3. You son is a wise young man!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mimi on December 6, 2011 at 10:29 PM

    I’m reporting you to someone—–I just haven’t decided to whom!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

