Dumb Enough

Last night Zippy was in the living room floor playing with Coco, our little dog who somehow is still with us.  The dog and Zippy were both having a good time and using up some stored-up energy a little before bedtime.

Since I adore the dog so (please imagine MUCH sarcasm here), I bought him a new toy — a little squeaky stuffed raccoon or something or other.  Zippy grabbed the new toy from the dog and hid it behind his back, confusing the dumb little dog.

“I wonder if he’ll be dumb enough to do this!” Zippy said as he placed the beloved stuffed raccoon on his own head.  Before I even had time to redirect the whole lack of forethought thing, the dog went running full-force at Zippy’s face and plunged his 10-pound body, complete with pointy little paws directly into Zippy’s face.  Stunned, Zippy fell to his back holding his face and moaning.

Amazed at what I had just witnessed and trying to stifle a big ol laugh at Zippy’s expense, I just sat silently and stared.  I may have shook my head a little in disbelief.

“Whoa . . . ” Zippy said as he sat back up.  He sat stunned for a few seconds.  “I wonder if he’ll do it again,” Zippy said as he placed the raccoon back up on his own head.

Unable to watch it again, I left the room.  I have no idea how many times the dog waylaid Zippy and the raccoon.  I have no idea how many times Zippy continued to wonder.  I really don’t want to know.

What I do know is that less than 5 minutes later, Zippy filled a cup with ice cubes and plopped himself down on the couch.  Not surprisingly, he quickly got a big ol ice cube stuck onto his lips — frozen in place to both of Zippy’s lips.  I just shook my head in disbelief as he realized the ice was seriously stuck.

And then right before my eyes, Zippy grabbed that ice cube and ripped! it off of his lips.  And just like that, the ice cube was freed from Zippy’s face.

The first thing he noticed was the piece of lip on the ice cube.  The next thing he noticed was the taste of blood.  The next thing he noticed was his mama yelling at him to get a rag and go clean himself up.

It was a really amazing 7 minutes to witness.  Probably not the kid’s finest 7 minutes . . . .  I’m just sayin’.

And this morning when I saw the scab on his lip from the whole ice cube experience, I knew I had not made it up.  Really, I couldn’t have made that up.  The kid amazes me!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angel on September 21, 2011 at 3:12 PM

    All I can say is, “Bless his heart.” 🙂

    Reply

  2. I hate to laugh at his pain, but that was pretty funny!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Renee' on September 21, 2011 at 11:30 PM

    Never a dull moment at the Mastin house!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mimi on September 22, 2011 at 7:49 AM

    Do they still have show and tell at school??!!!!

    Reply

  5. Good to know it’s a “boy” thing and not just my kids that have such amazing adventures 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

