Caterpillar

The family piled into the car, headed to church.

The boys were frustrated with each other.  The parents were frustrated with their boys.  Zach and Mom both had a headache . . .   Yep!  A typical Sunday morning!

While backing out of the driveway, Chloe asked for her caterpillar toy.  She thought it was in the car.  Elliot unbuckled and looked around for Caterpillar.  Unfortunately, Caterpillar was nowhere to be found so Elliot explained to Chloe that it must be back at home.

About a half-mile down the road, I realized that I had forgotten something that I needed so I turned the car around and headed back home.

As I pulled in the driveway and prepared to hop out of the car and hustle back in the house, Chloe got my attention.  “Caterpillar!” she signed and vocalized.

I laughed out loud and agreed to grab Caterpillar while I was inside.

Again, it was just a simple, typical thing that cracked me up and took me by surprise.  Again, it was a regular ol’, typical thing that made me so happy and proud of Chloe.

It was just a “Hey, while you’re in there, would you grab Caterpillar?” kinda comment.

And it totally made my day!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sara W. on September 14, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    That is great, Kelly! My mom is reading “Out of my Mind” to her 3rd grade class right now and she brought it home. I stayed up way too late and read it this week. It was amazingly eye opening. It needs to be a must read in every class.

    Reply

    • Oh, yay! So glad you got to read it and THRILLED that your mom is reading it to her class!! Huge hugs to her for doing so!! It is an amazing book! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy Franklin on September 14, 2011 at 11:37 AM

    Yeah, Chloe! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Audrey on September 16, 2011 at 7:14 AM

    Awwww, that is such an awesome story. Too bad those who think she doesn’t communicate couldn’t see that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

