I Remember

September 11, 2001.  Yes, I remember.

9/11.  Yes, I remember.

I have a terrible memory, and although I don’t remember many things, . . .  I remember that day.

I was at home having a quiet morning with my 2 little boys.  Elliot had just turned 2 a couple of weeks earlier.  Zachary was not even 6 pounds yet.  Since he was so tiny, there was plenty of room for him to lie in my lap even with my 6-month pregnant belly.  The boys and I –and my pregnant belly– were just playing around at home that morning.  We lived in Grand Rapids, MI.

Paul called from work with some crazy news.  He encouraged me to turn on the TV and see it for myself.  Something crazy like a plane crashing into a building in NYC.  I took the boys down to the only TV in our house in the playroom downstairs and turned on the TV.

And I sat there the rest of the day.  I think I sat there for a couple of days.

I remember sitting there with tiny little Zach lying in my lap, and innocent little Elliot quietly playing toys and reading books.

I remember the second plane crashed into the other tower.

I remember the fear.  I remember the tears.

I remember the smoke and the explosions.  I remember the noise.

I remember the people jumping out of buildings.  I remember sirens and screaming.

I remember the people running out of the buildings and down the street.  I remember the panic.

I remember sitting there and crying with my boys.  I remember hugging them and holding them and sobbing.

I remember the shock.  I remember my eyes being glued to that TV.

I don’t remember if we ate that day.  Probably we did.

I don’t remember talking to my sweet boys that day.  Probably I did.

I remember wondering how I would protect my children from this world.  I remember thinking of my tiny boys and my girl still yet unborn and wondering if this world was the right place for them and their innocence.

I remember the first tower falling.  I remember crying outloud.

I remember the second tower falling.

The people.  The numbers.  The devastation.

The bravery.  The love.  The service and the commitment.

The fear.  The sadness.  The loss.

I remember.

And we won’t forget.

Thank you to those who gave your lives 10 years ago, serving your community and your country.  To those still hurting and mourning the loss of a loved one that day, please know that we do still feel a tiny twinge of your pain.

2001.  The year 2 of my children were born.  2001.  The year of 9/11.  2001.  The year that everything changed.

Yes, I remember.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mimi on September 11, 2011 at 10:08 AM

    I remember!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jamie on September 14, 2011 at 10:55 AM

    Thanks girlie for putting down on paper everything I thought that day, but don’t have the gift of writing to put it in words! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

