Good Mama / Sleepy Girl

A Sleeping moon in a cap.

Image via Wikipedia

When I went in Chloe’s room this morning to wake her up for school, I found her asleep on the floor of her room — books and toys strewn about.  She had gotten out of her bed at some point and played her heart out in the dark in the middle of the night.

As I tried to wake her and get her stirring, I realized that this sleepy girl had not gotten much sleep at all.  Unfortunately, the night was over, but Chloe’s sleep had only recently begun.

I struggled but got her dressed, her eyelids heavy and usually closed in sleep.  I worked hard at propping her up so I could do her hair — even though her head kept bobbing in and out of sleep.  I sat her in her chair for socks and shoes, but she slept through it.  I went to the kitchen to make her breakfast, and found her snoring in her bedroom floor when I returned.  She was one tired girl.

So then the arguing began.  Not so much arguing, I guess, as debating.  The silent debating in a mama’s head, trying to decide what to do.  Take this sleepy child to school?  Put this sleepy child back to bed?  Take her tardy?  Pick her up early?  Splash cold water on her face?  Turn up loud music?  Put her in the car?  Leave her in the floor?

I was pretty sure I needed to take her to school, and besides, I had to take Elliot to school regardless so Chloe had to go to the car.  I managed to wake her enough to stand her on her feet, and she walked obediently to the car.  She climbed up in her carseat, and I buckled her up.

After 1/2 mile or so, I caught a glimpse of her in my rearview mirror.  She was snoozing again.  Oh, sheesh!  What was I supposed to do?  I can’t take her to school if she can’t even stay awake for the car ride there!  But would that be rewarding her for her bad middle-of -the-night choice?  And besides, I’m having discussions with the principal and trying to arrange to do some observations of Chloe.  How can I observe her school day if she’s at home!?  Ugh.  What to do?

I drove to Chloe’s school and parked.  I looked at her sleeping in the back seat and wondered what to do.  I decided to wake her up, take her to school, and call in a little bit and see how she’s doing.  If she’s still sleepy and sleeping at 10, then I’ll pick her up and put her to bed.

I took her in and explained to her teacher how sleepy she is.  I told her I’d call her in a bit to check on her.  Hopefully they’ll be forthright with how she’s doing.

When I pulled up at Elliot’s school 15 minutes later, I said sorta to myself, “I wonder if a good mama would’ve taken her school, or if a good mama would have taken her home and put her to bed.”

Elliot answered without hesitation, “Well, you’re a good mama . . . so I guess a good mama would’ve taken her to school.”

And that was that.

I’ll call and check on the sleepy girl in a little bit, and I expect to be picking her up early from school today.

Again, the bed cannot get here soon enough!!!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Elliot’s comment makes me smile! He wins the prize for the day! And you win the good mama prize. And I guess I win the not-twisting-the-twisty-ties-on-the-zipper-tightly-enough booby prize.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sara W. on September 7, 2011 at 12:57 PM

    I love that! Sometimes these boys can say just the right thing without meaning to at all and that just makes it all the sweeter! Glad you got that blessing this morning, friend,

    Reply

  3. How sweet and wise of Elliot:-)

    Reply

  4. Well, when I called to check on her around 9:45, the report was that she was SLEEPY. So I picked her up shortly after 10. She’s miserably tired. Hoping for a good night’s sleep tonight!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

