Homework

You know you’re getting back to the daily grind when the kids start bringing home homework.  Ugh!

Zippy’s homework started this week.  I have been so busy that I haven’t even been able to pay much attention to it.

But yesterday when we got home from school, Zippy sat down to complete his homework.  Before I even realized that he was working on it, he declared that he was finished.

“I’m done with homework, Mom, and you don’t need to check it!” he exclaimed.

Now, is that a red flag or what?!  “You don’t need to check it!”  And he was quickly cramming his “completed” work into his binder.  I quickly explained that I would, indeed, be checking it in a minute.

“Ok,” Zippy sighed as he immediately began erasing the writing from the homework worksheet.

A few minutes later, in record time, Zippy again declared that he was done and that I really didn’t need to check it.

Again, I responded letting him know that anytime he tells me that adamantly that I don’t need to check it, it is guaranteed that I’ll check it.  “Leave it out, and I’ll check it in a minute.”

<sigh> “Okay,” Zippy said dejectedly as he again began erasing his rushed-through work.

You must laugh, eh?

It was a great attempt to write garbage as quick as lightning and call it good.  But no such luck.  The sweet boy still tells on himself!  🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Funny! I remember doing this same thing as a kid. I always thought that my mom would just forget or something, but of course she never did. She would call me out on doing a sub-par job and make me do it again. I hated her for that, but thankfully I am better for it. Way to go for sticking it out!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mimi on September 4, 2011 at 1:58 PM

    Yeah! That always works! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

