A “Big Girl” Experiment

Oh me.

Trying something big.

I took down the bed tent today.

Oh me.

You see, the bed was ripped up anyway.  It was “fixed” with duct tape, but anytime Chloe wanted to get out, she got out by removing the duct tape.  She oftentimes got up, got whatever toy she wanted, and got back in bed.  So really the bed tent had completely lost its effectiveness.  It had completely lost its safety element.

And one of Chloe’s sitters who loves her very much expressed concern about Chloe not being able to sit up on her bed.  She tearfully explained to me that she was burdened by the fact that Chloe could not sit up in bed like you and I can.  The sitter very much wanted to help fix that problem.  I assured her that we would think about that.

So today I just took off the bed tent.  Just like that it was gone.

Chloe sat and played toys on her bed all afternoon.  She loved it!

But now it’s bedtime, and she’s a freebird in there.  I’m crossing my fingers.

We had many “big girl” conversations during the afternoon.  We talked about her “big girl bed” a lot.

Elliot threatened her that if she gets out of bed tonight that he will sing and dance really loudly all morning tomorrow!  I think the boy knows his little sister and knows what threats really get her!

And I bribed her.

If she stays in her bed tonight then she gets to watch youtube videos on my computer tomorrow.

So far, so good . . . .

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fran on June 29, 2011 at 8:10 AM

    How did it go?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kelsey G. on July 7, 2011 at 11:18 PM

    What I want to know is how Chloe gets out. How does she get out????

    Reply

    • Ask your mom if you can google Houdini and watch some of his videos of his great escapes. And tell me how HE gets out!! Same deal. 😉

      Reply

      • Posted by Kelsey G. on July 8, 2011 at 10:29 AM

        What I want to know is how Chloe gets out. How does she get out????

        Oh I see

  3. […] quite some time.  If you’re new around here, you can read about our saga here, here, here, here, and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

