Never Good Enough

I hate that he was so proud of it.

I hate that he worked on it for 3 weeks.

I hate that he thought he had done well.

I hate that I didn’t know he could have typed the final copy.

I hate that he was supposed to have finished it over Easter weekend.

I hate that someone would think it was okay to give homework over Easter weekend.

I hate that he worked so hard on it.

I hate that he had written 8 whole pages worth of story for it.

I hate that he loved writing the story.

I hate that he was so happy with his story that he couldn’t even stand to be in the same room with me while I read it.

I hate that he was thrilled to be writing the final copy into a real book to keep forever and ever.

I hate that he got 10 points off for not turning it in the Monday after Easter.

I hate that he colored his front cover picture onto the back cover of the book by accident.

I hate that handwriting is so terribly hard for him.

I hate that he hates it that his hand shakes when he writes.

I hate that the teacher couldn’t even read the handwriting.

I hate that Zachary couldn’t read it either.

I hate the note from school that says the teacher couldn’t read it and Zachary couldn’t read it either.

I hate that this fun project that he had such a ball working on and was so proud of, is now something that he hates to even think about.

I hate that a project that was meant to be fun and was meant to build the students’ confidence totally defeated my child again.

I hate that he will just want to throw his real book right into the trash.

I hate that I want to join him in ripping the pages out one by one and throwing them in the trash.

I hate that he again feels like a failure.

I hate that he knows that his best is just not good enough.

I hate that he made a 59 on the stupid book.

I hate that the 59 is going into the grade book 3 times.

I hate that his book has to be on display next week for all the parents to come and see.

I hate that he will want his book to already be in the trash instead of on display.

I hate it.

I really, really hate it.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jamie on May 4, 2011 at 10:03 AM

    I hate you had to write this post. I hate that anyone or anything would make Zippy feel so bad!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sara Watson on May 4, 2011 at 3:06 PM

    Wow! I hate, hate, hate that all too! Ugh for Zippy and for Mom for hurting right along with him!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tia on May 4, 2011 at 8:21 PM

    I hate that instead of celebrating and recognizing what an accomplishment this was for Zippy this became another example of not measuring the same as the rest of the class. I hate that his pride in his accomplishment was destroyed by a numerical grading scale. I hate that his effort was not rewarded.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Frog Kyle on May 4, 2011 at 10:12 PM

    I hate it too.

    I love that his mom loves him this much and that Zippy knows he doesn’t have to make perfect grades in order to maintain your affection.

    But gosh, I hate that he’s got to go through this junk at school.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mom on May 5, 2011 at 3:07 PM

    I HATE IT ALSO!!!! I know that somewhere there are teachers with hearts! Iknow that somewhere there are teachers who take the time to really know their students and recognize their tremendous efforts. Iknow that somewhere there are teachers who care more about children and their progress than whether or not they do every thing perfectly. I have known many such teachers. Where are they?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

