Still Out of My Mind

Remember the book review that I posted here?  The one that Paul wrote about the book Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper?

Well, we still really like the book.

We think it carries an important message.  I heard Paul say to someone yesterday that after you read the book, you will never feel the same way when you see or meet someone with cerebral palsy.  Yeah, I think it’s that powerful.

So if you haven’t read it yet, pick up a copy and read it.  Check it out from the library or order a copy on line.

Elliot checked it out from the library again last week, wanting to reread it.  The librarian at school asked Elliot to do a little review of it for her to add to her website.  He chose to do a voki book review.  My blog doesn’t support voki.com, but I can put a link to it.  Check it out:  voki mind

And then, go get the book and read it.  And don’t forget to tell me what you think of it.  🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindee Harris on April 28, 2011 at 7:27 AM

    Kelly as soon as I saw it on your blog I went and checked it out at the library and I loved it. It was such an easy read that I could not put down. It gives you a whole new way to look at things from their point of view. I highly recommend this book to everyone. I wish that everyone that works with kids would read it. I think it would give them a better understanding. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Laura on April 28, 2011 at 9:38 AM

    Katie and I both read it. It is definitely on the list for Kirby and Kelsey this summer. We liked it very much. Katie’s comment was, “I’ll bet Chloe is smarter than that even!” My heart just breaks for her NOT being able to tell me what she is thinking. I hope someday I get to spend enough time with her to understand her signs and noises!

    Reply

  3. Posted by papa on April 28, 2011 at 8:49 PM

    I also read this wonderful, insightful book and wish every one that knows,loves,and works with Chole would care enough to read it also. I really fell in love with Elliot as VOKI ..HE DID AN OUTSTANDING JOB ON HIS REPORT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

