Weighing . . . Deciding

My little boy is volatile.  He is excitable.  He is either at the top of world giddy, or he’s crashed down at the bottom completely dejected.  There is the occasional middle of the road emotion, but it happens so seldom, that it is often missed because of the  confusion of it being there.

Yesterday was report card day.  It’s not a fun day at my house ever.

For once, I remembered it was coming and cleared our calendar of appointments for the afternoon.

Elliot is pleased and proud of his grades and needs to be able to celebrate that with his family.  But he knows not to even mention it until we can be alone in our celebration.

Zachary comes to the car with very angry eyebrows.  He slams the van door open and closed.  He throws his backpack into the back of the van and angrily plops his body into the seat — dejected and rejected and disappointed yet again that he didn’t measure up.  “I’m never going back to school!  I suck at it!” was his song this time.  His crumpled report card is held tightly in his fist.  I leave my place behind the steering wheel and crawl to the back with him to console him.  He sometimes needs that immediately, but this time he wasn’t ready for that yet.  He was still in the angry stage.  He growled at me until I made my way back up front.

I learned later when I retrieved his report card from the trash can that he had improved in nearly every subject this six weeks.  In fact, the class that he failed last time is now an 80.  He had lots of reasons to be pleased with his report card.  But he was still distraught — there wasn’t an A anywhere on it.

Yet another chapter in our report card day history.  Ugh.

Later in the evening, I announced sloppy joes for dinner — one of Zippy’s favorites.  Suddenly, it was a good day, and he was a happy boy.  Later his friend came to play, and Zippy was as excited as he would be on Christmas morning.  More high.

He had a very hard time going to sleep last night.  He was up late.  The downer began.

And this morning he was awakened by a musical toy that Chloe was playing with.  He was not happy about it.  Even though it was time for him to get up, he was mad that she had woken him up.  The day was off to a bad start.

I have a feeling a couple of things will make today a very good day for him.  At 1:30 today, I will be the Mystery Reader in his class.  He will be so pleased with that.  I hope it’s everything he wants it to be.  And then at 2:30, he is getting the Good Citizen award at the pep rally at school.  He’s never gotten that award.  He will be thrilled!

So today will turn out to be a good day after all, probably.  Until something happens to change his mood. . .

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sandy on April 22, 2011 at 9:48 AM

    Wish, wish, wish I could be there to see his face for both events!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tia on April 22, 2011 at 8:13 PM

    What an awesome report card and news about his improvements. That is great! I’m sad that he was so down on himself, but I hope today brings him back up. Way to go Zippy!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Melissa Coco on April 25, 2011 at 2:23 PM

    wow- so many things to be proud of sweet Zippy boy- may your heart see only them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

