Celebrating the Typical

When you have a child with disabilities, usually their milestone chart goes at its own pace.  A lot of times the milestones look quite a bit different than they do for a typical, non-disabled child.  Often, the chart has completely different milestones on it altogether.

But the milestone chart is the same in that each milestone is celebrated.  And the truth of the matter is, when your child with disabilities reaches a milestone, the celebration is that much sweeter because of the amount of time, effort, practice, and work it took for your child to succeed at the task.

Chloe achieved a milestone yesterday.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like it listed on any of those “Your baby should be doing these things at this age” charts, but it is such a typical little kid thing to do that I celebrated it.  Most kids do it when they are toddlers probably; I’m not even sure.  But I cracked up yesterday when Chloe did it for the first time.

We were in the van, and Chloe said, “Hi!” or at least made one of her getting Mom’s attention sounds.  In the van, if Chloe vocalizes anything she is either singing along to the radio or she’s talking to Mom.  Since we were stopped at a red light, I turned around to see what she needed.  I was surprised to see that she wasn’t looking at me like she does when she needs to tell me something.  Instead, she was turned looking out the window.

And then she did it again.  She said, “Hi!” . . .  And she waved.  She was waving to the lady in the car next us!  She greeted a stranger in the car next to us!  She said, “Hi!” and waved!!  And the lady next to us had her window down and was waving back at Chloe and smiling this huge happy smile at my girl.

And there it was.  A very typical moment for my not-so-typical girl . . . several years late according to the typical-kid calendars.  And I celebrated it!  I was so joyful and excited and proud of Chloe!

The woman in the car next to us couldn’t have known that she was part of such a huge moment.  Probably she had waved at other young kids in other cars.  And I’m positive that she’s forgotten all about Chloe by now.

But I will remember this event for a very long time.  It’s an amazingly typical thing that kids do.  But I laughed and smiled and was genuinely grateful to the lady in the car next to us for playing her part in this milestone for Chloe.

And this experience is also another reminder to me of the impact that we have on other people’s lives everyday — even when we don’t know it.  The lady in the other car probably thought nothing about waving at the little blonde girl next to her.  But she impacted Chloe and me forever.

And who knows . . .  maybe that lady does remember Chloe.  It is possible that Chloe’s greeting and “smile” was exactly what that stranger needed yesterday.  Maybe Chloe blessed that lady.

We’ll never know.  But it sure gives me a reason to wear a smile on my face — even when I’m driving in traffic!

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by heidi on March 31, 2011 at 2:30 PM

    VERY Cool!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Melissa Coco on March 31, 2011 at 2:32 PM

    Yeah for Chloe:) gave me chillbumps- 🙂 What a cool thing:)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Paul Mastin on March 31, 2011 at 2:32 PM

    This post made me smile BIG! What a cute, sweet little girl Chloe is!

    Reply

  4. Pure awesomeness! Yay, Chloe!!! :). You go girl!

    Reply

  5. Posted by jojos mom on March 31, 2011 at 4:37 PM

    Wonderful moment.. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mom on March 31, 2011 at 6:56 PM

    Would love to have seen that exchange!!! I know Chloe must have been pleased and excited inside,just as you were. Sweet,sweet girl!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Tia on March 31, 2011 at 10:28 PM

    Oh my goodness, you make me cry so much….but what a great cry this was! How precious and wonderful that you got to see this milestone happen. Yea! for the lady in the car who engaged Chloe and made this a wonderful experience. I’m sure she was blessed by the exchange as much as Chloe was.

    Reply

  8. […] it was just a simple, typical thing that cracked me up and took me by surprise.  Again, it was a regular ol’, typical thing that […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

