Not Anonymous

Can I just say that the words “Anonymous”  and  “Unanimous” crack me up?  🙂  They really do.  I love those two words!  I used to get them quite confused and never knew if I was unanimously anonymous or anonymously unanimous!  Hehehe.  Oh, me.  Those words literally tickle my funny bone.  I am thrilled to have already used them so many times in this post!

Ok, that was not meant to be the topic of this blog post.

Anonymity is to be the topic.

As you know, I am not anonymous on this blog.  I use my name and my children’s names and my husband’s name.  And everyone knows that I live in Fort Worth, Texas.  I even post some of my blog posts on my facebook status sometimes.  I am not anonymous.

Sometimes being un-anonymous (now THAT’S a funny word!) is very tricky.  You see, I’m friends with many people who work at my children’s school.  I am facebook friends with several teachers at the school and at some of Chloe’s old schools.  I have a lot of friends from many different circles who follow this blog.  It forces me to choose my topics and my words very carefully.  It is good in that I haven’t found myself having to apologize for things I write on this blog.  I have to be sure that what I write here won’t be used against us and won’t offend or offer false information in the heat of my emotion.

It also means that many things we experience in different circles of our life never make it on this blog.  There are things I can’t share because I’m un-anonymous.  Does that make sense?  For example, if you did something to me or to my child today that greatly offended me, I probably couldn’t write about it because you would read it the next day!  🙂  If I was an anonymous blogger, I could write anything I wanted to write!  It wouldn’t matter who I offended because no one would know it was me!

I have thought about starting a different blog so I could just blog away without worrying who is reading or who is offended.  A blog where I and my family could just stay anonymous and I could say any and every thing I thought to say.  But I know my maintaining another blog is unrealistic.  I sometimes have a hard time keeping up with just this one — like the last week when I fell off the face of the earth!  And besides, I think it’s good for me to be forced to speak in a diplomatic way every time I sit down to type.  Yes, it’s good for me!

Anyway, all of that to say that writing things on this blog gives me a chance to put it into words, to process it, to file it away.  It is oftentimes therapeutic for me.  But just know that there are LOTS of things I don’t write about on here because I haven’t found a way to talk about it without just flying off the handle.  I know there are some of you who are thinking, “Let it fly, girl!  Let it just fly!”  But I choose not to.  I have to choose not to.

It’s tricky:  blogging about something that has the potential to offend.  It is difficult since my words are just being read — you can’t hear the tone of my voice and you can’t always tell if I’m being sarcastic or not, you can’t see the expression on my face.  A blog and other written communication can be tricky and can be misunderstood.  So I choose to be careful.  I choose to usually err on the side of just not saying it.

And now that everyone is trying to read between the lines, I will close.  🙂

“What did she even say in that post today?” you may be asking.  “What does all that mean?” you may be asking.  I guess this can be tagged as a stream of consciousness blog post — a post in which I say, “Just in case you ever think that I blog about every trial and struggle, please know that what you read here on this blog is just a drop in the bucket.”

And I think I’m unanimously un-anonymous in all of this.  🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on February 4, 2011 at 1:41 PM

    Oh,no what have I done that you are not going to write about??????!!! Asking anonymously, of course!!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I know what you mean! I have not told many people about my blog, but I know some have found it. I try to write so that if someone I do know actually finds it, then they won’t be offended. However, that can be hard because writing on the blog is therapy for me.
    Good post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

