Goals/Wishes Update

Remember my 5 Goals/Wishes to focus on for 2011?

Well, some thoughts on them. . .

First of all, the whole “having more fun” thing is going to be tricky.  I’ve been amazed since writing that post at how many things have happened to remind me that our life and our family is just not a normal family.  These realizations are very isolating and zap the “fun” right out of the moment.  Not sure if I will have to revamp that goal or if “having more fun” will just look and feel differently than I thought it might.

Secondly, I have a little bit of a plan for eating more healthy.  My plan for the next 2 weeks is to make some healthier foods for the family and to juice a little bit everyday.  At the end of each day, everyone needs to have eaten a raw vegetable or fruit and had a cup of “juice” (this week it will be carrots and apples mostly and I’ll start with small doses that anyone can force down).  For snacks the choices will be fruit, cereal bar, or yogurt.  These are small steps, but it’s a start.  And any improvement over the soda, cookies, and candy of the holidays will be a big step!   I just made a menu for the week — and it might not sound very yummy or very dinner-ish, but I think it’s a great step away from junk and from cheesy, buttery casseroles.  The menu includes a healthy oatmeal, tuna salad, ceasar salad pockets, and baked tilapia.  We’ll see who eats what and who complains about what.  😉

Lastly, my first step to getting my life organized is to get my Christmas stuff put away and my house cleaned.  I’m working on those two things today.

Off to a great start, and it’s only Jan 2nd!

How about you?

9 responses to this post.

  1. Let us know how it goes. I have been just trying to get my kids to eat an apple a day. It is frustrating.

    Reply

  2. I love our juicer, but haven’t used it since this time last year! Think I might get it out when I get home. Love carrot juice (actually dislike carrots though!) and green apples with raspberries!!! I’m starting to meal plan too. I also recently bought this book: Fix, Freeze, Feast. One recipe typically makes three or four meals so you can freeze. Has to be better than the processed, pre-packaged stuff from store. Should definitely save a lot of money this way as well!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Paul on January 3, 2011 at 1:10 PM

    Of course it would help if your husband didn’t buy every bit of clearance Christmas candy he can find. . . .

    Reply

  4. Maybe we should find our own kind of fun. We’ll make our own brand…market it to the public as something daring and different…make millions…whaddya think? That might be fun? ;). Juicing sounds good. Maybe I should get a juicer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

