In the Night

hot_chocolate

Chloe is home sick again this week.  Her sinus infection is still going strong, plus she has an ear infection with it this time.  She cried and cried on Sunday so I had her back in the doctor on Monday morning.

Since she’s home sick, I’ve been watching some TV with her.  Yesterday we played wii most of the day.  Today we are just sitting and watching kid shows that we never watch.

Caillou came on a bit ago.  On the show it was the middle of the night, and Caillou was awakened by a loud storm.  He hid in his closet and called out for his daddy.

His daddy woke up when he was called for — first odd thing — I didn’t think daddies woke up in the night when someone was calling for them. . . . (Love you, Paul!)

Next, when Daddy found Caillou hiding, frightened in the closet, his response shocked me and immediately filled me with feelings of amazement and of failure.  Really.  Didn’t know a kids’ cartoon could make a grown-up feel that way?  It did.  Because Caillou’s Daddy’s response was, “Let’s go see if a cup of hot cocoa will make you feel any better.”

Seriously?

A cup of hot cocoa in the middle of the night?!  Do parents really fix their children a cup of hot cocoa in the middle of the night to calm their fears?

This parent doesn’t.  Never has.  And has no plan to ever do such a thing.

Yes, I wake up when I’m called.  But I’ve always been surprised that I was ever called upon a second time since I don’t think I’m all that pleasant when I’m called upon in the night.  I’m a mama who loves her sleep, and really, really would prefer that it not be interrupted.

I do wake up.  I do respond.  And I perform whatever duty needs performing in the wee hours.  But I can’t imagine a scenario when a cup of hot cocoa would be the answer.

My middle-of-the-night philosophy is talk as little as possible, turn on as few lights as possible, and move as few muscles as possible — I don’t think preparing hot cocoa for two fits into that philosophy.

Ok.  So here’s your chance.  If you have ever fixed hot cocoa for two in the middle of the night or done something so amazingly wonderful as that, leave me a comment and we’ll see if any of you are award-winning, go-above-and-beyond-in-the-middle-of-the-night type parents.  Please know that anyone who leaves a comment will have to pass a lie-detector test before any winning announcements have been made!  🙂

And if none of you have ever done something similar to Caillou’s dad, then I’m starting a petition — a petition to the makers of sweet shows like Caillou that make the rest of us regular ol sleepy parents look bad and that give our children crazy ideas of nice things their parents should do for them.  Any signers?

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fran on November 5, 2010 at 8:16 AM

    First of all, the Daddy in this house does get up with the kids in the middle of the night because the Mom is less than pleasant during those wee hours. (He says it’s in the best interest of everyone in the house if I am allowed to stay in bed and get my sleep… Apparently I am quite mean and impatient at that time of the night…) Secondly, he definitely agrees with you about saying as little as possible and turning on few lights. He isn’t as grumpy as I am about it, but he doesn’t make it a fun time either…

    So… I’ll sign the petition… 🙂

    Reply

  2. I too, am not one of those moms. Sometimes I don’t even get up. His room is adjacent to mine so I just holler for him to come here and let him climb into bed with me so we can all get back to sleep. Coco in the middle of the night is not smart parenting. It has caffeine an will keep the kid up for hours, who may have to go to school in the morning. Not smart. Get them back to sleep as quick as possible!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Laura on November 5, 2010 at 11:21 AM

    The only time I ever did something nice in the middle of the night was in about 1978 (maybe before that) when a little brother named PAUL (sound familiar) came and woke me during a thunderstorm because he was scared. You know me…I’m the face your fears type…I took him outside and we played in the rain until we were frozen to the bone. We didn’t get caught until we went into the kitchen to make hot chocolate. That was when Mom heard us and I got in big trouble…yes, ME! I was the older sister and I should have known better than to be out in the rain in the middle of the night, especially with my precious little brother who would NEVER do anything like that without being forced to. Paul sat quietly drinking his hot chocolate and I’m sure slept VERY WELL after that!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Stephanie on November 5, 2010 at 3:02 PM

    Personally I think it’s a European thing (isn’t Caillou French?) They mention hot cocoa in the night in The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe also. And they do it here in SA regularly. It’s prob cause they drink hot drinks ALL the time as well. Most babies/young children here drink a bottle of hot tea with milk and sugar before bed… just thoughts to consider. x

    Reply

  5. Posted by Katie Campbell on November 5, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    well in my personal opinion I hate that show. Caillou is super whiny and afraid of everything so maybe trying to emulate the parents actions on said show isn’t such a great idea if you want decent, not whiny kids (which your kids definitely are!) :]

    Reply

    • Well, hi, Katie! Thanks for commenting! 🙂 Oh, wow. Didn’t know all of that about Caillou. This was literally probably only the second time we’ve watched the show. So maybe hot cocoa in the night makes your kids whiny. Interesting! 😉

      Reply

  6. Posted by Renee on November 5, 2010 at 5:26 PM

    I agree with Katie…. I hate for my kids to watch that show….if you watch it for any length of time you find out who wears the pants in the family and it isn’t the parents. Very liberal on its ideas of life. We try to have lunch during that time or find something else for them to do when it is on! Oh, and I am the one that gets up at night with the kids…Chris just tells them to go back to bed….unless I tell him to get up and help!!!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mimi on November 5, 2010 at 7:33 PM

    I seem to remember getting up EVERY night with a little girl for about TWO YEARS when she would show up at my bedside asking me to come cover he up!!!!!!! Finally the night came when I stomped to her room, told her to get into bed, sit up,pull her sheet up under her chin and then lay down, still holding the sheet! I told her, the next time she had that problem, to follow that same plan. I never awoke to find her at my bedside with THAT problem again! Kind of sad.

    Reply

    • Oh, Mom, I think of that story often. I don’t remember it at all, but your telling it is memorable. And the fact that it made you a little sad that I didn’t need you in the middle of the night anymore often reminds me that these days are so fleeting! That’s why I so readily allow the boys to crawl into bed with us in the night — one day oh to soon they will not care to crawl in bed with us. . . and I’ll miss it terribly!

      Reply

  8. Posted by Tia on November 6, 2010 at 12:14 AM

    Kelly, I am right with you on this one. I HATE to get up in the night and I am not a sweet, gentle, loving mom in the middle of the night. Macy used to wake up a lot with bad dreams, and she would stand by the bed while I prayed with my eyes closed (and my mind half asleep) that God would give her happy things to dream about and take away the scary thoughts. Now we pray BEFORE she goes to sleep that God will give her happy thoughts and keep away the scary dreams. She reminds us, every single night, to pray. If it doesn’t happen because we are rushed and out of our schedule, she will track me or Cliff down and demand our nightly prayer. It’s very sweet, and I’m so glad my kids keep me accountable on these things.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Sandy on November 9, 2010 at 10:09 AM

    I don’t think I’ll be winning any awards soon. I’m the same wife who, when awakended in the middle of the night by a deathly ill husband needing to go to the ER, said, “I think urgent care is closed at this time of night,” and then rolled over and went back to sleep. We did visit the ER the following night I think. . . it’s been a while, and the poor guy had giardia (sp?) and was severely dehydrated, etc..

    Reply

    • First, Sandy, you’re awesome to comment. Thanks! 😉

      Second, This sounds more like a Not Me! Monday post — quite a painful confession! Luckily he’s a forgiving kind of guy!! 🙂 No awards for you, friend!! Hehehe.

      Reply

  10. Posted by jojos mom on November 10, 2010 at 8:56 PM

    Calliou..Yes, the show is a bit annoying and I agree at times I have felt guilty for not responding in the oh so unrealistic way of cartoon parents. RE: Dad and Hot Cocoa in the night..I agree with Kelly as little movement as possible. The dad of our house sleeps through most nighttime interruptions. our poor kids have two grumpy parents in the night. If I can get away from directing from bed its a win.. since we have struggled with sleep issues with all three children I must say I have NEVER offered hot cocoa. Unless there is a secret child safe sleeping pill slipped into the hot cocoa. I agree with Fran i will sign the petition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

