God Cares

To-Do List

Image by Jayel Aheram via Flickr

I am a list person.  I make lists.  Lots of lists.  I write To Do lists, shopping lists, packing lists, phone call lists, medication lists — all types of lists.  And it might not surprise you that I’m one of those list makers who write down stuff I already did just so I can cross it off my list. I love to cross things off my list.

Perhaps the reason I’m a list person is because I’m pretty scattered and can’t keep things straight.  I have to have a list — a plan — or I do nothing.  Lists help me organize my life and take care of the things that I need to.

One of my lists is a doctors to call list.  I usually have several doctors I need to call each week, either with questions or reports or making appointments or getting refills.  The last couple of weeks, I haven’t written down my doctors to call list; instead, I’ve just kept it in my head.  (Uh-oh.  Can’t be good.)  I have, for some reason, fallen behind on my doctor calls.  (Could it be that I had no list?!  Could it be that we have been living in crisis mode dealing with Chloe’s school stuff?)  Well, I finally remembered to call some of them yesterday and today.

One of the doctors was for Elliot.  To protect his privacy I won’t mention the issue here on this public blog, but it is an old issue that has reissued on the other side . . . or actually gone missing on the other side. . . Anyway, I remembered to call his urologist yesterday to make an appointment.  The news?  The doctor can’t see us until December.  December!  And he’s an established patient!  Crazy.  But I decided to make an appointment with his nurse practitioner whom we’ve never met since we could get an appointment to see her in 2 days!  Well, yes, we’ll see the nurse practitioner.  Then today I get a call from the urology office saying I need to call them regarding Elliot’s appointment for tomorrow.  I was immediately agitated, assuming that they needed to change to a different day.  Seems like that happens all of the time to us.

I called back and am still amazed at what transpired:  I was talking to the nurse practitioner’s nurse (if that’s not confusing . . . ) who informed me that unfortunately the nurse practitioner doesn’t see patients with problems like Elliot has.  We were going to have to see the doctor after all.  Well, okay.  Disappointing, but okay.  Let’s change tomorrow’s appointment to who knows when.  But then, her next words made me shout Hallelujah!  “He can see you tomorrow at 2:30.  Would that work for you?”  Wow!  From December to tomorrow!!??  Awesome!

So the point of the story is that God cares.  Elliot is concerned about his issue since his self-exam has revealed something surprising.  I really was thinking he needed to see the doctor who had done his previous surgery but didn’t want it to wait until December.  And now, Elliot gets to see his doctor tomorrow!!  God is good.  And he cares about what troubles us.

I will, of course, give you the report from the tenders doctor soon.  🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by heidi on September 29, 2010 at 12:14 PM

    David shares that predicament ; (

    Reply

    • Have y’all taken care of it yet? If not, I encourage you to real soon. The surgery to fix it last time was not a big deal at all. (Easy for me to say!) But seriously, he had a hard time walking upright for a couple of days, but it healed quickly. I hear it is important to get it fixed quickly though. Let me know if you need recommendations. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Well, the doctor is the doctor for a good reason. He was able to find what was lost and tell us that there are no worries. 🙂 Quick, easy appointment. Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

