We Give You Labor Day.

Tonight I prayed with Zachary at bedtime like I do each night.

At the close of my prayer I prayed, “We give You the glory, God.  We give you praise.  We give you thanksgiving.  We give you honor. . .”

Zach interrupted me and prayed, “We give you Christmas, and we give you Easter.”

I didn’t have a clue where that random thought had come from, but I agreed with him, “Yes, Lord.”

“And we give you Labor Day and 4th of July. . . .  ”  I continued to agree with him as he rattled off every holiday he could think of.

“And, I guess all that’s left is Halloween,” Zach continued.  “We give you Halloween.”

Then it hit me.  His thoughts and his listing of the holidays was not random.  He had picked up where I had left off.  After all, I had prayed, “We give you thanksgiving.”

4 responses to this post.

  1. That made me chuckle out loud! How cute!

    Reply

  2. so sweet…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sara Watson on August 23, 2010 at 1:36 PM

    That is so funny! I am glad that you are ‘writing’ it down so you will remember this stuff later on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

