Priorities???

How do you choose what in your life are your priorities?  I oftentimes have difficulties with that.

Some things, I know, can easily be put off with no consequence.  Mopping the floor can probably wait.  Cleaning off the back porch can probably wait.  Replanting some things in my flower bed and shopping for things we need for vacation can wait.  Painting Zippy’s new room can wait, I guess.

But there are some things that I really want to do that end up being put off until later simply because they can wait until later.  I have several out-of-town friends that I want to call, and I don’t want that to wait.  But lately calling them has been put on the back burner.  I have this blog that I really enjoy; I want to write frequent posts on it.  I want to write interesting, informative, entertaining, encouraging things on it.  But sometimes when something has to go, it’s my blog that gets moved to tomorrow’s to do list again.

Lots of things seem really important and timely and needed.  How do I choose which one to start with?

It’s difficult to choose which thing to start with. . . so sometimes when I’m just overwhelmed with a list of very important things that has me stumped, instead of beginning on it, I just do nothing.  Don’t know where to start . . . so I don’t start at all.  That approach is highly unhelpful and unhealthful.  I must move past the tendency to shut down.  I must go ahead and choose something and do it.  Then, of course, my list will slowly begin to shrink, and it won’t be so overwhelming.  Right?

So what to do today?  Hmmmmm.  My list.  My priority list.  Well, since I really struggle with prioritizing my list right now, I will list things that come to the top of my mind today — in no particular order:

take the kids swimming

move Zippy to his new room

laundry

buy groceries

take a shower

work on my new business

do stretches and exercises with Chloe

work on my garage sale stuff

buy a new vacuum

organize and rearrange my bedroom

clean the bathroom

work with Chloe on her P2G

clean out my closet

clean and organize the boys’ room

play games with the kids

set up and organize my new desk

organize the garage

organize the pantry

read with the kids

I’ll stop there before I overwhelm myself again.  🙂  And, besides, I just came up with a plan for today.

Today, I will:  take the kids swimming, make a dessert for a dinner at church tonight, work on my new business, move Zippy’s bed to his new room, and make a bit of progress in organizing and rearranging my bedroom.

There, I made a plan.  Looking at my plan, I realize I may be naive about how much I can actually accomplish in one day, but it’s a plan.

I know you probably have a ton of things to do, too.  How do you organize / prioritize your list?  What are you accomplishing today?  Tell me!  I would love to brag on you for your accomplishments!  🙂

8 responses to this post.

  1. I do the same thing! When I get overwhelmed by things that need to be done, I tend to shut down and do nothing. It is so hard to overcome that and I am still working on being able to do that. I think I will try to do what you have done, start small and try to shrink that list.

    Reply

    • Hi, Debbi.

      I had fun checking out your blog. (http://www.thehenryfamilysince1997.blogspot.com) Sounds like our girls have some similarities, eh? And I was so saddened (and angered) by your bus post today. Ugh.

      Please let me know how tackling your list goes. I ended up NOT doing the things I set out to do today. I had forgotten I had a doctor’s appt in the afternoon. We left from swimming, ran home and changed, dashed out to the doctor, and then a quick stop at the grocery store, made that cake . . . . and the day was gone. Oh well, maybe tomorrow.

      Reply

  2. I feel the same way. Today (and almost everyday) my priorities are to keep my daughter out of and away from things that could hurt her and to be patient with her as she has now reached the fit-throwing stage. Joy! 🙂 Everything else (laundry, dishes, cleaning up toys, etc.) has to happen while she is either asleep or during the brief periods that she is content in her exer-saucer. As a side note: I WISH buying a new vacuum was on my list. I so want a new one! 🙂

    Reply

    • Hi, Maranda. Thanks for stopping by today. I’m glad I found your blog today! (http://www.thegomesfamily.wordpress.com)

      Ahhhh, the exersaucer days!! I remember those times. I say, “Praise God for exersaucers! I think they’re awesome!

      I won’t tell you how long it’s been since my carpets were vacuumed. My vacuum killed over some time ago . . . I really should get a new one!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Heidi on June 2, 2010 at 3:21 PM

    You are really making me think on this one! I think its a cup of coffee discussion, but where does that go on the priority list?????

    Reply

  4. Kelly.. I remember those days fondly! LOL Funny how being an empty nester AND not living close enough to the girls + families to be involved .. unfortunately ;(
    But none of my memories really contain the overwhelming feelings that I KNOW I used to experience.
    One foot in front of the other even if they’re baby steps… I wish I lived closer …I would volunteer to do the organizing in the non-personal areas! I’ve finally done the last of it including the basement and garage- {it’s about time… we’re going on our 3rd summer here! LOL} sooo you’re NOT alone! anyway I love to do that kinda stuff.
    BTW have I missed something? What is your new business??

    Reply

    • Oh, Cindi!! (http://www.aspiretoinspire.blogspot.com)

      Thanks for being willing to offer to help me! It certainly makes me wish you lived closer, too! 🙂

      Congratulations on finishing all of your reorganizing! Who cares how long you’ve been there — no one is keeping score!

      Yes, my new business. . . . It is soon to kick off, and then I will be able to tell you all about it. Hopefully I’ll fill you in in about 2 weeks! 🙂 Wait for it. . . .wait for it . . . . 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

