Another Hat

(This post has given me quite a headache.  The photos kept messing up my text and vice versa.  Finally one of my photos somehow was eaten up by another photo.  I give up . . . .  I’m publishing it as is!!)

We parents wear many hats, no?

We have our nurse hat, our chauffeur hat, our soccer mom hat, our teacher hat, our counselor hat, our volunteer hat, our homemaker hat, our encourager hat, etc. . . . you know what I’m talking about.

Well, on occasion, I also wear a seamstress hat.  LOL!  I can’t type that sentence with a straight face.  Me . . .  a seamstress!!  Ha!  That’s certainly stretching it.  But I do on occasion have to don my seamstress hat, get out my sewing machine, and get to work on something.

Chloe requires some custom-made items to make her life easier and more comfortable.

#1  Sometimes I just have to “rig” her pajamas.  Since she has the HORRIBLE habit of taking off her pjs and then taking off her diaper AND since she has NO CONTROL of urine or poop, I had to think of something.  The answer?  Zip-up footed pajamas worn backwards (so she can’t reach the zipper).  But for it to work comfortably, I have to cut off the feet of the pjs and cut the back of the neck into a little v-neck — after all, if you’ve got to be STUCK in pjs, it is much nicer if they’re not choking you all night.

#2  I make all her t-shirts into onesies.  Since Chloe’s bladder doesn’t work, she has a cutaneous vesicostomy, a small hole below her belly button where her urine drains.  I don’t have to cath her; the urine just goes right into her diaper.  That is IF her diaper is tall enough and stays put up where we need it.  She has to wear an adult size M diaper so that it is tall enough to catch her urine.  But also important is keeping the diaper up in place to cover the vesicostomy.  To accomplish this, I turn Chloe’s shirts into onesies.  Basically, I just cut the panty part off of onesies that are too small for Chloe and sew the panty part on a shirt that fits her.  Tada!  A onesie!

#3  My latest feat was altering onesies that no longer fit into onesies that do fit.  (I have photos of this one so maybe you’ll understand at least one of my seamstress products!)  In case you can’t figure it out from the photos alone, feel free to try to interpret and follow these very detailed and knowledgeable instructions:

First, gather some too-small onesies.  (see photo A)  Then, cut the too-small onesie into 3 parts:  the top, the middle, and the panty part.  (see photo B and C)  The top part goes in the trash.  The panty part will be used to sew onto this year’s t-shirts. Next, gather a few more too-small onesies and cut them in half (does NOT have to be exact).  (see photo D and E)  Next, grab a middle part that was cut earlier (refer back up to photo B and C) and sew it onto the panty part of the too-small onesie.  (see photo F)  Lastly, sew the top part onto the middle part, and the once-too-small onesie is ready to be worn again!  (see photo G) And the possibilities are endless. Very lastly, it is always helpful to have a helper close by incase you need help threading your sewing machine or running the material through the dealy.  (see photos H and I)

photo A

photo B

photo C

photo D

photo E

photo F

photo G

photo H

photo I

Sewing gives me quite a feeling of accomplishment.  What I make is NOT pretty, but it is useful and needed.  Usually when I complete a project, Chloe wears it that day or the next.  That’s how much she needs it.

It’s nice to feel useful now and then, isn’t it?

Well, what are you waiting on?  Tell me!  Tell me about one of the hats that you wear or about a way that you feel useful to your peeps.  🙂

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Heidi on May 28, 2010 at 8:48 AM

    well, I am sorry to inform you…. you DO wear the seamstress hat VERY well! I also think you have a gold mine! Surely there are moms with a problem just like yours! You need to somehow market this! Oh and by the way…(I get a commission fee for telling you how smart you are)! at least after you make your first Million!

    Reply

    • Oh, Heidi!! Thanks, friend! You really are too kind! Next week I’m trying a new needed garment for Chloe. I will certainly let you know how it goes! 🙂 And I’ll consider your commission! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by papa Mabry on May 28, 2010 at 9:26 AM

    GOD is the best TEACHER….I know Chole loves what you do for her

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jamie on May 28, 2010 at 8:35 PM

    WOW…Impressive!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Tia on May 29, 2010 at 11:14 AM

    Hey, remember when I used to make my own clothes in college? You would think I would put that skill to use for my own kids, right? NOPE. In fact, my sewing machine has not seen the light of day in at least 6 years. There is so much stuff piled on top of the cabinet it’s not even recognizable as a sewing machine cabinet. Cliff has to beg me to sew on buttons when needed. So sad. You are a special Mama for being creative about how to take care of Chloe’s special needs. And you definately could market that if you wanted to…and you know, had tons of free time. 🙂

    Reply

    • No, I don’t think I remember that, Tia. But my memory REALLY STINKS!! Market it. .. . IF I wanted to and IF I had tons of free time . . . . good thinking. I guess the answer to both of those is NO!! 🙂

      Reply

  5. […] seamstress.  Someone to design and create clothes and pjs that would fit Chloe’s needs. I do my best, but someone who really knows what they’re doing would be such an amazing thing to have at my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

