Making You Comfortable

What do you do to make guests feel comfortable in your home?

Have fun music playing?  Have a candy jar on the side table?  Serve snacks and drinks?  Leave your shoes off for a casual feel?

I just met a new blogging friend, SomeGirl, last night at a Families Like Us event.  I was reading a few of her older posts and came across a very, VERY validating one.

SomeGirl wrote about dishes in the sink opposed to a clean and shiny sink.  She said that when our homes aren’t immaculate, then our guests will feel more comfortable!  That when our guests see our imperfections, it gives them a certain grace for their own imperfections.

Hmmmmmm.  True?  Yes, it probably is, actually.

In fact, I am certain that’s the reason I don’t feel like my home has to be shiny clean and organized before I have guests over.  Yeah, that’s it!  It’s not because I’m busy or stressed or overwhelmed with life.  It’s not because I just didn’t get around to it.  It’s not because it’s just not one of my top priorities.

Yeah, that’s got to be it!

To my friends who have witnessed my imperfections in my homemaking skills:  I left it messy FOR YOU!  Because I love you and want to give you grace!

You can thank me for it later!

8 responses to this post.

  1. lol! It’s like that Saturday Night Live skit from way back… (said in some weird SNL voice) “I don’t clean my house, ’cause… I want you to feel comfortable… Yeah, Yeah, That’s the ticket!” 😉

    Btw, it was a FUN surprise to find myself linked to your blog! Thanks! 🙂

    ♥ Michelle

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ronda Campbell on April 26, 2010 at 6:54 AM

    I didn’t miss the sarcasm, but I think one of the reasons your Life Group is so successful was your grace and poise in letting people feel comfortable in your lived-in home. Your house always feels like home!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mom on April 26, 2010 at 11:16 AM

    I didn’t miss the sarcasm! Nor did I miss the creative excu –I mean reasoning !!!! It makes me wonder what things I fell for during your childhood!:)

    Reply

    • You are way too wise to fall for anything. And I am way to honest to stretch the truth or make up a story. So it’s all good, Mom! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Posted by Jamie on April 27, 2010 at 12:19 PM

    Oh Lord, my guest must all feel VERY uncomfortable in my home. I still have the fear of my mother from my childhood. She would be appauld to know I allowed people into my home without it being 100% spotless. I try to let things go and say oh so and so doesn’t care that my house is a wreck and then I see the image of my Mom standing over me telling me how tacky it would be for someone to see my house that way. Then I see her saying, ppl will think you are lazy and irresponsible when they see this house like this. Therefore, I jump when I hear someone is coming over, actually I can’t even go to bed with it messy in fear someone might drop by the next day. I don’t think this excuse would fly for her, but I might run it by her. How wonderful it would be to sit around before ppl come over all in the name of “making them feel comfortable.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

