Like a Good Neighbor

Do you know your neighbors?

Are you friends with your neighbors?

I do know most of my neighbors.  And I’m friends with some of them.  Although I’m let’s-go-grab-something-to-eat-together friends with only a couple.

It is always something I yearn to improve on.  I want to be a good neighbor.

I want to be “the friend a few doors down who really cares.”

I would love to be “the friend down the street who will always help me out.”

I long to be “the neighbor who always remembers my name”  and  “the neighbor who is always blessing me.”

Does that sound strange, or do you want those sorts of things, too?

Let me tell you about a good neighbor who always remembers my name and really helped us out by blessing us.  He must really care.

Chris and his wife across the street have 3 children in their 20s who all still live with him.  Two of their children have their wives and babies with them, too.  The other child has a dog that lives there as well.  Chris and his wife are blessing their children by helping them get on their feet and save some money.  Their house is full.  And their schedule is packed, and their lives are busy.

But Chris called wanting to help us last week.  As if he wasn’t already helping enough people, he called and wanted to help us!

I had told his wife that our lawn mower wasn’t working and that I would pay anyone in her house who wanted to mow my lawn.  But when Chris heard of it, he decided that he would like to fix our lawn mower for us.  Really!  Oh, and did I forget to mention that it was Chris who gave us this mower a few years ago when he bought a newer one??!!

Yes, Chris gave us this mower.  He heard that it was broken.  And he wanted to fix it.

“Roll it out on your sidewalk, and I’ll come get it and take it around to my shop,” he instructed me one evening last week.  “I won’t do anything that costs money without checking with you first,” he assured me.

So smiling and oh-so humbled, I wheeled the lawn mower out to the sidewalk.

The next morning when we got home, the front lawn had been mowed and our fixed lawn mower was waiting for us on our back porch.

When Paul examined it, he noticed several new, clean, shiny parts.  And when Paul called a lawn mower shop that day, he learned that the work Chris had completed on our mower would have cost us over $100 at a shop.  Wow.

A good neighbor, eh?  A generous neighbor.

Then Paul’s question:  “Should we get him a gift card from Lowe’s or something to thank him?”

But you know what?  We decided that Chris would probably be disappointed if we gave him a gift in return.  I believe that Chris repaired our lawn mower because he wanted to help us.  He wanted to bless us.  He even wanted to save us the trouble and money of taking our lawn mower to the shop.  He wanted to use something that he is good at — a skill that he has — to bless us.

And I don’t think he wants us to repay him.  It would be like us paying him for his services.  That is not why he fixed our mower.

He definitely blessed us.  He certainly helped us.  And he also challenged us.

He challenged us to be a good neighbor to someone else.  Wouldn’t our neighborhoods be great if everyone looked for ways to bless their neighbor?

Thanks, Chris.  You helped me, blessed me, humbled me, and challenged me.  And you really made my day!

2 responses to this post.

  1. You were always an awesome neighbor to us–glad we could be one of your “let’s grab dinner” friends. Even if you always tossed your mint wrapper!! What a great neighbor!

    Reply

    • Oh, Angel! You made laugh! And you almost made me cry!! I had totally forgotten about the mint wrapper production every time!! Funny stuff! Love you, friend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

