I Can’t Believe I Just Said That!

CORRECTION:  I can’t believe I just had to say that!!

How often do we parents find ourselves saying (and repeating) things we never thought we would say — or have to say?  How many times are we forced to make up a new house rule that sounds so ridiculously obvious that we feel goofy even saying it?

I find myself in those situations a couple of times a week, I feel like.

Take for instance this morning.  I was doing Zachary’s hair and was forced to stop combing so I could say the following:  “We do NOT blow our nose in our hand!  We never, ever blow our nose in our hand!  It is dirty.  It is gross.  It is germy.  It is weird.  And it is inappropriate.  NEVER blow your nose in your hand!”

When I received a totally-innocent-and-a-little-bit-confused expression from Zach, I offered softly, “You should get a tissue.”

He quickly obliged, and a new house rule was established.

<sigh>

So . . . .  what have you said that you NEVER thought you would have to say??

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fran on April 8, 2010 at 9:47 AM

    I never thought I’d have to say, “Did you really wash while you were in the shower? Did you wash your hair? Let me smell your head. How do you forget to wash when you are in the shower?!?” Thankfully, we are outgrowing that phase…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lisa Love on April 8, 2010 at 7:48 PM

    One of my favorite movies is “don’t eat the daisies”….you have to watch it one day. It’s an old Doris Day movie and she says all kinds of things you’d never think you’d have to say!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tia on April 8, 2010 at 10:11 PM

    Oh my goodness, yes! We have had to state many things as rules that seem really obvious to us. However, in light of Fran’s comment, I have to add “Did you really flush? If I walk in the bathroom right now, what would I find in the toilet?” And the ever-popular, “Did you really wash your hands? Let me feel them to see if they are wet.” Sadly, it’s not just my 6-year-old I’m saying that to these days, but also several kids I work with at the school as well. In fact, I just love when I have to tell a particular kindergarten boy , “NO! Do not come out of the bathroom until you have pulled your underwear and pants up. Go back NOW!” He has no modesty what-so-ever. Love this post, Kelly. Had to read it to Cliff ’cause it cracked me up.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Heidi on April 9, 2010 at 8:57 AM

    oh good, I was worried about still having to remind my 9yr old boy to wash his hands EVERYTIME after going to the bathroom, NO MATTER how much fun he is missing!! And I know there is more like “don’t put the cookie back in the package after taking a bite!” and “poopie toilet paper goes in the toilet…..NOT the trash can!”

    Reply

  5. Posted by Renee' on April 9, 2010 at 2:00 PM

    I had to tell Marissa this week “No, we don’t swing our dirty panties around the house. They go to the dirty clothes hamper.” “No boogers on the side of the couch…use a kleenex.” “If you don’t want your sister to toot in your face than face the other direction in bed.” I could go on and on….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

