A Palm

I remember Palm Sundays as a child.  There were lots of big palms that everyone — children and adults alike — waved with all their might while we sang Hosanna songs.

As long as you didn’t sit beside or in front of an annoying boy using his palm as a whip, it was an amazingly exciting and moving event.

I. Love. Palm. Sunday.

And I. Love. Palms.

I don’t know if palms have gone out of style, or if our church just doesn’t participate in the pomp of greenery in the church (although we DO give out carnations to the moms on Mother’s Day), but the palms have been missing from my Palm Sunday experience for at least a decade.

I’m not sure if my children have EVER experienced waving a palm in the church building while singing Hosanna.  Shame.

I can’t imagine the joy Chloe would’ve experienced if she had had some palms to wave during worship last week.

I miss the palms.  And I have said so several times since Sunday.

In fact, I said it to a friend last night while we were listening to Bible verses at AWANA.  “Church was great on Sunday, but I sure wish we had some palms.  I really miss having palms.  We need some palms.”

At that, one of my kindergartners approached me sweetly and announced, “I have one.”

“You do?” I asked.

She smiled and nodded her head proudly.  Then she shared her ‘palm’ with me:  “Roses are red.  Violets are blue.  Sugar is sweet, and so are you.”  She waited for my response with a sweet, innocent smile on her little kissable face.

“Wow, Gracie.  That’s a beautiful palm.  Thank you so much!”

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Heidi on April 1, 2010 at 9:52 AM

    Awe! How cute! And, in the case of the palms….I think they are expensive and churches see them as “unnecessary”. But I think you should find some artificial ones and keep them for yourself to fill that void! I think your kids would oblige…..don’t you??? (I can see a sword fight break out hmmm….)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ronda Campbell on April 1, 2010 at 10:52 AM

    Hey, Kelly–
    We had palms during kids’ worship in Emerge, Jr. last Sunday! I will try to find the ones we used and give you enough for your crowd!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jamie on April 1, 2010 at 12:00 PM

    Why am I not surprised that you get all giddy and excited about Palms, all while singing Hosanna!!?

    Reply

  4. precious. precious. precious.

    thank you so much for sharing this Kelly
    I needed a pick me up and that brought a smile to my lips

    Reply

  5. Posted by Fran on April 1, 2010 at 1:32 PM

    There were still some in the praise and worship room and in the story time room last night when we were at AWANA. The one Caroline made is still in my kitchen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

