Out of the Mouths of Loving Brothers

Tonight I had Zippy feed Chloe her dinner.

We were in the car waiting for Elliot’s soccer practice to end.

I figured it would be easier for Zippy to feed Chloe in the back of the van than it would be for me to crawl back there, get situated, and feed her.

And I promised him 3 Oreos if he would comply without making a mess.

Since FOOD is Zippy’s love language, he took on the challenge happily.

I know some of you are already thinking that this story will end in disaster.  But it really wasn’t too bad.

He very quickly realized it would be quite a challenge to feed her without making a mess.  He tried to bail on our agreement.  The reminder of  “no cookies”  kept him focused and determined.

Also rather quickly, his arm grew tired from lifting the heavy pureed food all the way into Chloe’s mouth, and he begged to take a break.  (This made me wonder if maybe that’s the reason he prefers to feed himself in shifts — maybe his arm grows too tired to continue . . . .  Yeah, whatever.)  I replied heartlessly, “If you take a break, you will receive no cookies.”  So he continued through the pain and exhaustion.

As he began feeding Chloe again, he sighed heavily, shook his head, and exclaimed, “Golly Jeepers!  She is such a pain!”

If the statement hadn’t nearly made me burst out laughing, I may have scolded Zippy for calling his sister a pain and reminded him that she has feelings even though she can’t tell him to “STOP!” when he’s being mean to her.

Even if Zippy wasn’t happy feeding Chloe, Chloe was very happy and even blessed by Zippy feeding her.  She just looked sweetly and sincerely and deeply into his eyes with every spoonful.  Her eyes were definitely saying, “Thank you,”  and  “I love you,”  and  “I like this.”

After a few small messes and lots of complaining, the feeding was done.  As Zippy handed the spoon to me and grabbed his Oreos, he again grumbled, “She is such a pain!”

2 responses to this post.

  1. “Chloe was very happy and even blessed by Zippy feeding her. She just looked sweetly and sincerely and deeply into his eyes with every spoonful. Her eyes were definitely saying, “Thank you,” and ”I love you,” and ”I like this.”” ….. so sweet. I love “eye language” … one day Zippy will appreciate it too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

