Not Me! Monday

Today I’m joining MckMama and lots of other bloggers in Not Me! Monday, where we are confessing many things that we absolutely did not do this week!  (Of course we didn’t!)  You can click on over to her blog to see what other bloggers have not been doing!

Here are a few things I have not been doing:

I did not give Elliot permission to hit Zach as hard as he can every time Zach touches him in an attempt to help Zach learn to quit touching others all the time.  And I did not have to act a little unsympathetic toward Zach a couple of times when he was slugged full-force by his usually-non-hitting big brother.  And I did not have to pull Elliot aside two different times to instruct him that “if you’re not going to hit him as hard as you can, then don’t do it at all.  For it to work, you’ve got to make it count.”  Yikes!  I would never say things like that!  No way!  Nope! That sounds almost cruel.

I did not run out of my morning-ritual chocolate milk this week and then attempt (unsuccessfully) to make an alternative with cocoa powder.  Since everyone knows cocoa powder Does Not Dissolve in a cold liquid, I certainly wouldn’t have tried such a thing.  And then when I was SO AMAZED at how dry the cocoa powder still was after minutes and minutes of VIGOROUS stirring, I did not call Paul to “come watch how amazing this is!”  When I had Paul’s attention, I did not stir and stir so vigorously for the demonstration that I stirred a hole in the side of the glass, sending milk and dry cocoa powder all over the table and the floor and the newspaper that Paul was trying to read.  No way!  Not me! And my husband’s response was not, “Wow.  That IS amazing!” as he watched the milk and powder run all over the place.  The whole episode did not nearly make me cry — I had missed my morning ritual of chocolate milk, after all, which is just as bad as some people missing their coffee.  And then (Brace yourselves, ladies.) Paul did not jump up and insist on cleaning up all the mess I had just made.  Perhaps sensing my frustration and my barely hidden tears, he did not send me from the room and clean up the whole thing.  Wow.

Lastly, I did not go back to bed today and take the best nap in the history of our planet.  Nope.  Not me! I had things to do and would not ignore those responsibilities.

How about you?  Anything you’ve not been doing this week?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laura on March 29, 2010 at 1:40 PM

    Paul has got to be the sweetest man on earth (next to his father of course). The man in my life would NEVER have even THOUGHT about cleaning up after me. I love him anyway.

    Reply

    • Yes, Laura, Paul is certainly a huge gift to me! It’s help with the little things that make life more bearable! But, yes, we do love your man! 😉

      Reply

  2. Posted by Stephanie on March 29, 2010 at 1:44 PM

    Ok Sis, I can totally relate! I felt so guilty to tell the girls to hit their brother back every time he hit them when (for several YEARS) he couldn’t stop impulsive hitting (part of the hypo-sensory integration disorder.) It was still major drama… Thank the Lord he finally doesn’t hit ALL the time anymore!

    And I can join with you in thanking God for our wonderful husbands! It seems God has given them an amazing grace-sense of recognizing the need and meeting it in stride.

    p.s. I’m a big fan of naps as well. I think we’re soul sisters :).

    Reply

    • 🙂 Thanks, Stephanie! I wasn’t sure I should even post about the hitting part, but I decided maybe sort of disguising it in a Not Me! Monday post would make it less severe a tale. I think it is sometimes a last-resort that sometimes really works. Glad yours was successful!

      Praise God for our husbands!

      And it’s nice to have a soul sister across the globe! 😉

      Reply

  3. Posted by Heidi on March 30, 2010 at 1:08 PM

    Oh no! I have never whispered in one ear to whollop the other one when they repeat on offense and haven’t listened to the words stop! Ha Ha!

    I also do NOT have dishes in the sink from Sunday night!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

