New Week’s Resolutions

I never made New Year’s Resolutions this year.  I haven’t made any in several years, actually.  I resist resolutions for several reasons.

First, there is something deep within me that resists what’s popular.  (Thanks, Mom.)  So since there is always a big hype over making resolutions for January 1st, I resist it with all that I am.

Second, it’s depressing trying to narrow down my shortcomings into a few resolutions that will improve my life and my being.  That’s daunting.

Third, I know that the average New Year’s Resolution lasts one week.  7 days.  And that’s it.  And I feel like exerting that much hype over one week of good choices is pointless and exhausting.

And fourth, this year anyway, I was so busy at the turn of the year — the turn of the decade — that I couldn’t sit down and think of much.

I did, however, sit down around the middle of January and make a short list of “things to try to change.”  I, of course, did not dare call them resolutions, for fear of looking like the crazies who make New Year’s Resolutions.  I was going to mention my list of “things to change” on this blog, but by the time I sat down to write about it, I had messed up on each one of the attempted changes, not even making it a week.

Humph!

But I have decided that since the average resolution lasts only 7 days, I could and should make New WEEK’s Resolutions with the hope that I will succeed with one or two of them!  I think it’s a great idea.

So, now, with no further ado, here is my first installment of New Week’s Resolutions:

1.  Write a letter to each of my children.  I have been challenged recently by a couple of examples of parents writing letters to their children.  What a treasure for that child to have when they grow up!  I love the idea!  I’m baffled presently at what in the world I should say in the letters to my children, but I resolve (love that word) to write 3 letters this week and put them away for safe keeping.  (I may give them a copy to read now, too, to make them feel extra special.)

2.  Straighten and organize my desk and “work stuff” and keep it that way.  Just for a week!  Surely I can do it for 7 days!!

3.  Don’t eat all day everyday like I’m preparing for hibernation.  I won’t elaborate on this one since you can probably relate.  What?? I’m just sayin’ . . . .

And I’m going to stop with three so I don’t stress out and shut down.

Want to join me?  Want to make some New Week’s Resolutions?

Leave your list in the comments and give it a go!  Good luck!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on February 7, 2010 at 6:27 PM

    Oh My ! Do you think you got my fear of FAILURE, too???!!!!! 😦 Mom

    Reply

    • NO, no, no! If I had a fear of failure I would not even set New Week’s Resolutions. And I certainly wouldn’t post them on my blog. (But hopefully the results of my week and my resolutions won’t end up being part of my Not Me! Monday next week!!!)

      Reply

  2. Posted by Fran on February 8, 2010 at 4:04 PM

    I did not stay in bed until 8:20 this morning and let my husband get the kids dressed and off to school. I did not bribe my kids on Saturday with the promise of a special treat if they would just let mom and dad sleep in without interruption. Hmmm… I think there’s a theme…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fran on February 8, 2010 at 4:10 PM

    I commented on the wrong one! Oops! Do I have any new weeks resolutions? Where to begin? Too much I need to change… hmmm… I’ll start with just one. This week I resolve to get my pantry organized…

    Reply

  4. I don’t care for the regular NY resolutions either… just all so overwhelming and frankly discouraging. While I was trying to find a way to challenge myself I found a blog that talked of selecting a word… JUST ONE WORD. I wrote a blog about it here if you want to read it:
    http://cindi-aspiretoinspire.blogspot.com/2009/12/this-is-usually-visual-blog-for-me.html

    It includes links to the original post. I am really trying to be open to listening this year… and while that’s not the word I chose I am kind of excited to be hearing!… does that even make sense?
    I like this one week at a time idea as well! thanks for sharing!! breaking each week up sounds feasible!

    Reply

  5. […] Leave a Comment Well, I can’t believe it’s already been a week since I posted my first New Week’s Resolutions.  I needed a few more days to accomplish my goals.  But, alas, a week is a week is a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

