Not Me! Monday

Today I’m joining MckMama and lots of other bloggers in Not Me! Monday, where we are confessing many things that we absolutely did not do this week!  (Of course we didn’t!)  You can click on over to her blog to see what other bloggers have not been doing!

Here are a few things I have not been doing:

I did not have to admit to a friend that my children don’t even own winter coats.  I did not try to make it sound like a logical idea. . .  “it doesn’t get that cold” . . .  “we just run from the car to the store or to church or to school” . . . “their daddy doesn’t wear a coat either” . . . “we dress in layers” . . .”they’re all warm-natured”. . .   And I was not left feeling like the worst mama on the planet after the conversation.

And I did not let another week go by with still not buying my kids coats!  My main reason is not that coats are expensive — I could put no cost on the health and comfort of my children.

I have not already replaced batteries in 4 of Chloe’s Christmas gifts!  That would be too ridiculous to admit.

We have not had close to no restrictions on playing wii since Christmas.  No way! I know and always follow the recommendations for restricting time on video games and television.  I would never let my children play and play and play on their new wii, without regard to exercise and playing outside.  Nope.  Not us.  And I certainly did not stay up two nights in a row after the children were in bed so that I could get my wii turn in!  Not me! That would be so childish.

I have not put off making my resolutions for a few days.  That would seem awfully silly to make New Year’s resolutions the second week of the year.  Nope.  I’m always prepared and do things on time.  I am not that flaky!  Not me!

I did not ask my friend to pick up “a couple of things” from the store for me while she was going.  And I certainly did not then hand her a list with over 10 things on it!!  No way! That would be so out of line.  I wouldn’t do something like that.

I am not already dreading this coming week and this coming basketball season.  I certainly have not been whining about it for a week.  I’m always careful with my attitude and never complain about the things I do as a mom.  I am not dreading taking Zach to practice on Monday, Elliot to practice on Wednesday and Thursday, and Zach back to practice on Friday.  I have not fought back tears over Elliot’s practice going until 9:00PM!!!  Nope.  Not me!

And I most certainly did not get another driving ticket this week!!  That would mean that I’ve gotten 2 tickets in the last 2 months!!  And that would mean that I wasn’t a careful driver.  That really did not happen to me.  And I didn’t deny the fact that I failed to stop at that red light.  And I surely did not then have to watch the video of the violation and watch myself run a red light right before my eyes!!  Nope!!  Not me!

Okay, I really need to stop before I confess all of my faults to you today. . . .  So, how about you?  Anything you’ve not been up to?

9 responses to this post.

  1. “I did not ask my friend to pick up “a couple of things” from the store for me while she was going. And I certainly did not then hand her a list with over 10 things on it!! No way! That would be so out of line. I wouldn’t do something like that.”

    LOL!!! That is awesome! 🙂 (did she get it?)

    Reply

    • Oh, Mailis, can you believe?? Yes, she (and her husband) did get all the items and rang them up separately so I could easily pay them when they got back! It was awesome! But a big piece of the scenario that I failed to mention was that I kept her 2 kiddos for them while they went. But still . . . .

      Reply

  2. Posted by Fran on January 5, 2010 at 5:45 PM

    I would have picked up twice as much stuff to avoid taking my tired, whiney 6 year old shopping with me! You went above and beyond by babysitting her that day…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fran on January 6, 2010 at 10:40 AM

    I absolutely did not let my 10 year old wear his daddy’s tennis shoes for more than a week after his fell apart. I always replace my kids shoes when it is obvious they aren’t going to last much longer. Of course my son owns more than one pair of shoes that fit!

    Reply

  4. […] Things We Know About « Not Me! Monday […]

    Reply

  5. Hee hee! You make me feel so proud that my children all have winter coats that actually fit. However, it is NOT the case that only one out of three has boots, and moreover it is NOT the case that I sent my daughter to school in several inches of fresh snow, wearing thin-soled suede mary janes. Oh, and I would NEVER do something as gross as teach my 6yo to bite his fingernails (“Honey, show him how you do it,” I didn’t say to my daughter) so that I wouldn’t have to clip them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

