The Daily Stuff

Chloe is getting a cold.  She’s sneezing like crazy.  When she gets a cold, it usually affects her body to the point that she lacks the energy to walk or to sit up.  A “little cold” really takes its toll on her little body.  I expect a call from her teacher in a little bit, asking me to come pick Chloe up early.  If she’s going to be plopped in the floor sneezing, she may as well be doing that at home with Mom.  That’s my opinion, anyway; and Chloe’s teacher respects that.

Zachary is completely weaned off of Zoloft, but we are still seeing lots of the manic behaviors.  He is nearly unbearable to be with.  I am maintaining my patience and my kind voice with him — those are very important things when dealing with him, especially when he’s out of sorts.  If you use an unkind voice with him or totally blow up at him, you can be sure that his blow up will be WAY BIGGER than yours!!  And I have found that it is not at all worth it.  So I keep my calm outwardly even if I’m exploding or crying inside.

But ‘Tis the Season!!  The season to be jolly!

It’s amazing how hectic and stressful the holidays can be.  At a time when it would be so nice to sit by the fire with friends and family and sip hot cocoa, I am running around like a crazy woman trying to get all my stuff done.

There are school Christmas parties to buy for.  The food, the crafts, the paper goods, the party favors.  And don’t forget the book for the book exchange!

There is a pretty long list of folks to buy gifts for.  Family, extended family, teachers, therapists, bus drivers, aides, bus aides, counselors, favorite nurses . . . .

The daily stuff like cleaning house, doing laundry, and cooking dinner seem nearly impossible to get done right now.  There’s no time for stuff like eating dinner or doing homework.  There’s no time for bathing the kids.  There’s certainly no time for playing with the kids or reading a book together.  A fire in the fireplace??  You’ve got to be kidding.  I don’t have time to carry in the wood and find the matches!

No wonder there are so many Bah Hum Bugs lurking around this time of year.  It’s stressful!

Add to that a little almost-8-year-old girl who is getting a cold and a precious 8-year-old boy who cannot control his little body or his actions right now.  If a mom didn’t have a good sense of humor about her, she might just sit in the corner in fetal position and cry until January!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jamie on December 15, 2009 at 11:43 AM

    It may not be appropriate to be laughing at this post, but I am! I can just hear your voice in my head telling that story and it makes me laugh!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Heidi Higdon on December 15, 2009 at 12:19 PM

    Your worries are all so warrented! I feel the same way about this time of year as you do!
    But your attitide and perspective is so refreshing (and HIGHLY admirable) to me especially with all the challenges you and your family inparticular face.

    Thank you Kelly, You are a blessing to more people than you know!

    Reply

  3. Your post brings so many emotions. I can imagine Zachary being weaned of Zoloft as many of my students are on it or off or back on, etc. Moms who take the time to be patient with their kids who need extra attention and extra love mean so much to me. I admire you 🙂

    Reply

    • Thanks, Jill! I admire teachers who choose to teach special kids! I appreciate you and those like you! (I mean the ones who love their job and do a good job! 🙂 )

      Reply

Leave a Reply

