The Weather Outside is Frightful!!

Well, not so much frightful as just plain FREEZING!!!

It even snowed here this morning!  The kids were dancing and screaming while they watched some pretty decent-sized flakes fall from the sky.  The flakes disappeared as soon as they hit the ground, just adding to the already mushy, soaking wet ground.

Cold weather makes me want to cry.  It makes my back hurt and makes me want to stay home and get back in the bed.

Cold and wet weather makes me want to cry and cuss!  (Don’t worry — I’m exaggerating.  I wouldn’t resort to such talk no matter how much my body aches from the cold!!)  I’m such a weenie about the cold. But at least I admit it.

But I waited and waited to turn on the heater.  The morning temperature inside our house the last couple of weeks has been 63 or so.  It did enter my mind daily that perhaps it is cruel to strip down a sleepy little girl for a diaper change right in the middle of the freezing cold floor.

But there is something about being the last one on the block to give in to the heater or AC.  (I think I got that little ridiculous habit competitive spirit from my mom who has since gotten over her ridiculous habit competitive nature with the whole heat/AC thing  since my dad has become more weenie-ish in the years past. It is much easier to turn on the heat and make him happy than to stick it out and try to win the award for being the last of the neighbors to give in!)  I, however, have not gotten over the whole competition thing and was quite proud to be prancing around in my freezing cold house with my jacket on all day while I watched the steam rising from my neighbors’ heaters — Wimps!

Anyway, I finally turned on my heater last night.  The cold and the wet really got to me, and I couldn’t get rid of my chill no matter how many layers I put on my body.  After turning on my heater, the feeling of a warm house was pretty quickly just about the best thing of the week.  Ahhhhhhh.  It was nice.  And then, lo and behold, a few hours later I see snow falling from the sky, validating my decision to turn on the heat!

All’s well!  And warm.  Unless you go outside.

You should know, too, that all 3 of my children are wearing long pants that fit them, long sleeve shirts that fit them, and jackets/coats to boot!!  (Oh, boots.  That would have been a good idea for today!)  I will look like such a great mom as my bundled up children come home from school today.  😉

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Heidi Higdon on December 3, 2009 at 1:47 PM

    Do you have electric blankets or electric throws…….they are the BEST things ever invented!!!
    You should atleast put one on your Christmas list!
    I am the opposite of you…..when the thermostat hits 69…..the heat comes on!!

    Reply

    • Funny, Heidi, that you are the second person in 2 days to mention electric blankets. I’ve never had one, but I looked at them at Target yesterday. For a King size bed, they are not cheap. But maybe a throw would do it . . . .

      Reply

      • Posted by Heidi Higdon on December 4, 2009 at 10:11 AM

        The trick is to: Ask for them for Christmas…..or……wait til late Jan. early Feb. when they start to put them on clearance. Keep an eye at Walmart cuz they are usually the first ones to put them on clearance. If I see them before you, I will let you know!

      • Oh, good advice, Heidi. And thanks for keeping your eyes open for them! Until then, I guess I will have to scream and screech as I get into my freezing cold bed. . . . . 🙂

  2. Posted by Daile on December 3, 2009 at 11:57 PM

    I do believe that the Michigan winter did nothing to toughen you up to the cold, by what I’m reading. I am shocked. 🙂
    My grandpa and grandma used to use an electric blanket, but they kept their window cracked year-round. I can still remember the FREEZING air coming out from under the crack of their bedroom door in the winter. What an amazing way to sleep, though.

    Reply

    • Daile, I have no idea what has happened to me. I’m more of a wimp than I’ve ever been! I think for my winters in Michigan I must have been “in the zone” or something. I knew I had to do it, and it didn’t bother me too badly. I remember even taking walks in the freezing cold snow. But now, being in Texas I think this should not be happening! Texas should always be hot! So when the winter comes, I really wimp up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

