Adoption Journal – 3

More from my adoption journal.  It gives me chills and drippy eyes to read back on all of this and re-live our experience from 8 1/2 years ago!

This entry is also dated March 26, 2001:

The Lord began years ago pointing us toward adoption.

When I taught high school in Fort Worth, I had several students who I wanted to rescue and take home with me — and even way more so when I taught middle school.

I remember Lance who could have benefitted from adoption.

Paul and I even discussed guardianship of DeVan one year and spent part of Christmas vacation with him in our home.

Jose lived next door and stole our hearts.  We would have adopted him in a minute.

Our friends adopted a little girl from the neighborhood where we lived.

Seeing, knowing, and loving many people in desperate situations opened us up to the beauty, purpose, and fulfillment of adoption.

More recently, we have several good friends adopt children of other races.  Naomi -from China.  Clare -from Haiti.  Randy -an African American from the foster care system.  Several families at our church have adopted children and have beautiful rainbow-colored families!

We have our first meeting with our social worker tomorrow.  Lord, I pray that You would continue to direct us.  Open and close doors, Lord!  And I pray for our baby tonight that he/she will be protected in its mother’s womb.  Grow it up, Lord, and direct its mother to Bethany and to us!  Amen.

It was so hard to type “he/she” and “it” instead of replacing it with Zachary’s name.  Amazing that those prayers I prayed were for Zachary!!  Wow!  Thank you, Lord, for answering our prayers!

Have I said lately that we LOVE adoption??  🙂

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Brian on November 15, 2009 at 8:21 AM

    What a wonderful and touching article Kelly.

    Best,

    Brian

    Reply

Leave a Reply

