Mom of the Year

I am always working hard to win the Mom of the Year Award.  It, of course, is not a real award, but it’s one that I strive for nonetheless!  Sometimes I think I really am in the running!  But, alas!  Other times I fail miserably and know that my actions have disqualified me from the contest!

One day I earn points for knowing exactly where the lost toy is.

The next day I earn points for cooking the kids’ favorite dinner.

I lose points for bonking Chloe’s head on the top of the doorframe when I’m getting her in the car.

But I earn points for playing her favorite cd while we drive.

Then I lose points for being late to football practice.

And earn points for playing soccer with the boys in the front yard.

I lose points for realizing at bedtime that I never washed the tinkled-on sheets.

And lose points for accidentally spending the entire evening on the computer.

But then I earn again for creating a fun way to study the spelling list.

And so it goes.  Everyday.  Earning and losing.  But always going for the prize!

I oftentimes (to myself mostly) will joke, “Surely this will get me the Mom of the Year Award!” or “Oh, no!  I just lost the Mom of the Year Award for sure!”

I realized recently that my oldest had been noticing my Mom of the Year comments.  At homework time, when Elliot couldn’t find a sharpened pencil, he asked me to sharpen it for him.  I declined, encouraging him to do it himself.

As he huffed and moped off toward the pencil sharpener, he grumbled, “Well, THAT’S not gonna get you the Mom of the Year Award!”

How about you?  You earning or losing points today?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jamie on October 7, 2009 at 9:03 AM

    Love it! I’m definitely a Mom scorekeeper! I earned some points today for a stop at Chick-fil-a. But unfortunately lost some for not even taking the time to make Maddie wash her face or brush her teeth before school so we could make it to Chick-fil-a and not be late for school. oops!

    Reply

  2. Posted by BILL on October 7, 2009 at 7:37 PM

    Kelly, I know your heart. I know every thing you say or do, even before you do it! In MY eyes you are, and have always been “mother of the year”. I talked to our FATHER just now, and HE agrees with ME! HE said that even before time began you were mother of the year, in fact HE knows the plans HE has for your life, and that the world has been changed because of the life HE has lived in you. I know you will continue to keep score and do all the things that prove you are mother of the year… relax and enjoy the journey I have for you!!! I so enjoy our walk together and want you to know that your children walk with ME daily , and I love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    WELL DONE MY CHILD, YOUR LORD AND SAVIOR, JESUS

    Reply

  3. Posted by Daile on October 8, 2009 at 10:13 AM

    It’s even better being able to imagine exactly how Elliot would look saying that. Too funny! You are the mom of the year!

    Reply

  4. […] did not do any such thing.  Nope.  Not me.  Because we all know that I am in the running for the Mother of the Year Award and all . . .  (But I was stressed over the TAKS tests!!)  And I am not still scratching my head […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

